![]() |
Foul Ball / Dugout situation
This happened in a high school baseball game:
Runners on 1st and 3rd with 1 out. Batter hits a foul pop-up near the dugout, the dugouts are open in the front. The catcher catches the foul ball about 4-feet before his momentum carries him into the dugout. After he stops his momentum he immediately returns to the field of play. The umpire ruled: Batter out and both runners advance 1-base as the ball went into the dugout. Is this the correct call ? Thanks |
iowafan,
Yes, the umpire's ruling was correct. This is commonly referred to as the "catch and carry" rule. FED 8-3-3d. JM |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
"Depends on his actual momentum". That's a hoot!!! I like the one I heard where the PU was going to call a strike on the batter for every player that was standing outside the dugout. Where do they come up with these?
|
Quote:
Tim, think we can do that in Oregon? :D |
Hehehe
Rei:
I could take that in front of committee. Hope your summer is going well. Regards, |
Quote:
But really, we could still have the ejection for repeat offenders, but with issuing strikes to the batter for doing it, I doubt it would even get to an ejection. Of course, would have have to have umpires actually ENFORCE this rule. :( |
[quote=RPatrino]"Depends on his actual momentum". That's a hoot. [quote]
Never had a player run into the dugout when he had every reasonable chance not to? I have. If a player makes a catch then continues into the dugout on his own accord and effort, what would you call? |
Quote:
|
Originally Posted by fitump56
Depends on his actual momentum. If he had no other choice but to catch and carry, then all is well. If not, then he has no right to do so and kill the potential advancement of Rs. Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:41am. |