![]() |
Balk Followed by Hit
R1. Pitcher does not come to a complete stop before pitching. Batter hits the ball and reaches first safely. R1 goes to third on single.
Am I correct that in OBR the single stands and the runner stays on 3rd? If so, is this the case in FED as well? |
Quote:
Yes, you are correct. OBR is a delayed dead ball. Continuous play is allowed to take place. If the b/r gets to at least 1st and all runners get to their advance base, the balk is disregarded. FED is an immediate dead ball. |
In OBR a balk is a delayed dead ball situation. If as a result of the pitch, every runner AND the batter advance at least one base then the balk is ignored. Otherwise the pitch is ignored and the balk enforced.
So in your situation, the balk would be ignored because R1 advanced at least to second AND the batter safely reached first. From what I've seen on this website I believe using the FED rulebook a balk is an immediate deadball situation, so the runner would be advanced to second and the batter remains at the plate. Difference in rulebooks: OBR: "That's a balk!.....wait for play to end..(if all runners don't advance at least one base or batter doesn't reach first) TIME!!!!" FED: "TIME!! That's a balk!" |
Quote:
This way, your balk call remains consistent when using either rule set. |
Quote:
Calling balks properly when working under FED helps prevent unnecessary discussions. Callin balks in the same manner under both codes might be helpful to those who can't remember which rule is applicable, but if you still have at least three remaining brain cells functioning, it is an unnecessary crutch. |
OBR - R1, 3-2 count, balk is called and the pitch delivered is a ball. is the balk ignored? ball 4 puts the BR on 1st and forces R1 on 2nd.
how about the same situation with R2 only? obviously ball 4 would put the BR on first but R2 would not advance. i imagine in this situation the balk would be enforced and the pitch ignored. |
Quote:
OBR 8.05 Penalty The ball is dead, and each runner shall advance one base without liability to be put out, unless the batter reaches first on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, in which case the play proceeds without reference to the balk. |
sorry, i'm in my office and i don't carry my books with me at all times. also can't access mlb.com for the rules.
how about the following... R2, 3-2 count, ball 4 wild pitch, BR goes to first, R2 goes to 3rd. or R2, 3-2 count, strike 3 wild pitch,BR goes to first, R2 goes to 3rd. does a dropped 3rd strike wild pitch qualify as "or otherwise"? The ball is dead, and each runner shall advance one base without liability to be put out, unless the batter reaches first on a hit, an error, a base on balls, a hit batter, or otherwise, and all other runners advance at least one base, in which case the play proceeds without reference to the balk. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Am I missing your larger point? You're not usually one to quibble... |
Quote:
|
Quote:
http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...hat%27s+a+balk |
Quote:
Even if it DOES, it really doesn't matter unless you use the FED mechanics for EVERYTHING else. |
Rich,
Verbatim from the 2007 FED Umpire Manual (#22 on p.17 for those following along at home): Quote:
JM |
Quote:
To me, practical would be to call time immediately in FED to let everyone know that play is over and keep the whining to a minimum should the pitcher pitch and the batter hit the ball. As I said in the thread you referenced...When I can't remember the code under which I'm working, I'll retire. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
The call of "Time" can mean just about any reason for killing the ball, whereas if it is preceded by "That's a balk," there is no confusion as to why it is being called. Garth, by all means do it the way you want. Just don't consider those who do it differently to be using it as a crutch, or because they don't know WTF they are doing, because that is just not the case. |
Quote:
If the traditional Smitty style works best for a given situation, would you rather be effective or stylish? |
Quote:
Quote:
Quote:
No need to respond, I'm on your Ignore List, as you have publicly announced. Hmmm, wonder why that is? |
Quote:
The two methods being discussed were the OBR.... "That's a balk" (Wait for play to end) "TIME! That's a balk." And FED: "TIME! That's a balk." There can be, and often is, a significant difference. Do what you want. I believe in this instance there is a right and wrong. |
Quote:
Quote:
Tim. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
Do what you'd like. Write what you'd like. I've explained to what I was responding. I'm done here. GB |
This is one rule I truly wish FED would change, because when it happens in NCAA or OBR, I almost always get the usual, "Hey! The ball is dead! He can't go anywhere" kind of responses.
Just out of curiosity, has anyone here ever called a balk in FED and had the batter smack a home run, only to oh so happily nullify those runs? :D |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:33pm. |