The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   OBR rule check (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/36008-obr-rule-check.html)

jkumpire Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:06pm

OBR rule check
 
Men,

My brain seems to be in neutral.

I don't have access to and BRD, or other OBR book, and I made a ruling I am not sure about.

Legion game, OBR. Manager says: "My starter throws LH and RH. When can he switch?" My partner doesn't know so I said:

"He has to be either RH or LH per batter, he can't switch during an AB. Once he chooses, he has to stay that way."

Question #2: Manager asks: "When can I throw him a glove? I can throw him another glove and not have it count as a conference as long as I don't cross the foul line, right?"

"Yes, sir, you are correct." I said in my most umpire rules man voice.

Everybody bought it, but now I can't remember if this is the correct interp or not. I know it is in FED. Help!

Thank you gentlemen.

jwwashburn Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:28pm

I am too tired to look it up.

But MLB.com has the rules book online:

http://mlb.mlb.com/mlb/official_info.../pitcher_8.jsp

Joe in Michigan

jkumpire Tue Jun 26, 2007 11:47pm

Thanks for nothing Joe.
 
Sir,

If you are tired go to bed and get some rest. Don't waste anyone's time with a silly reply to a serious question. Or better yet, why not read Rule 8 and try to find the answer to my question which was not there when I re-read the rule tonight just like it wasn't there for the other thousands of times I've cracked the OBR book over the years. :mad:

Thanks for your assistance.

And if you wake up sometime before noon, check back here, you might learn something too.

SanDiegoSteve Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:07am

I was going to call him out on that one too, but you did a fine job all by yourself.

I wish I could help, but I don't know. It seems strange that an ambidexterous pitcher would not already own a custom made two-hand glove.

So, in the spirit of Joe in Michigan, go look it up yourself. J/K jk.:)

SanDiegoSteve Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:10am

Just my opinion, but why would taking a glove to a pitcher count as a trip? As long as no conversation takes place, and no undue delay is involved, I wouldn't have a problem with an equipment change. If second base comes loose, I don't charge a trip just because the coach goes past the foul line.

fitump56 Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:47am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire
Men,
Legion game, OBR. Manager says: "My starter throws LH and RH. When can he switch?" My partner doesn't know so I said:

"He has to be either RH or LH per batter, he can't switch during an AB. Once he chooses, he has to stay that way."

LOL I had this happen, told the Coach, as long as he has an official MLB Approved Two Way Glove. Coach looked at me, he actually called for his P's glove. :eek: :D
Quote:

Question #2: Manager asks: "When can I throw him a glove? I can throw him another glove and not have it count as a conference as long as I don't cross the foul line, right?"

"Yes, sir, you are correct." I said in my most umpire rules man voice.

Everybody bought it, but now I can't remember if this is the correct interp or not. I know it is in FED. Help!
I'm not big on baselines as Lines of Infinite Demarcation, I'm big on intent, on what conversation takes place especially if I can't hear it. I'm also big on once OK, twice no way. If it is a simple glove exchange, no problem. If it becomes a habit with any conversation, regard the conversation as a Super Secret Message. LOL :D

Quote:

Thank you gentlemen.
Where?

Jim Porter Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:53am

The correct ruling on ambidexterity is that both the batter and the pitcher may switch one time per at-bat. If the pitcher switches throwing arm and the batter switches batter boxes they must stay that way for the duration of the at-bat. If a pinch hitter enters during an at-bat, then it starts all over again -- each may again switch once.

As far as bringing a glove out, I'd tell the coach he'd be surprised how far you can toss a glove without breaking it.

fitump56 Wed Jun 27, 2007 12:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
I It seems strange that an ambidexterous pitcher would not already own a custom made two-hand glove.

Trapeze models work the best.

http://i109.photobucket.com/albums/n...ar/Photo12.jpg

jkumpire Wed Jun 27, 2007 07:09am

Thank you for the messages!
 
I appreciate the messages very much.

Jim, do you have a rules or interp citation for that? I am not understanding why you would limit the batter to only one switch, though I can see limiting the pitcher to one switch per at bat.

Does the switch have to be at the start of an AB, or anytime during the AB?

Thanks!

bob jenkins Wed Jun 27, 2007 07:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by jkumpire
I appreciate the messages very much.

Jim, do you have a rules or interp citation for that? I am not understanding why you would limit the batter to only one switch, though I can see limiting the pitcher to one switch per at bat.

Does the switch have to be at the start of an AB, or anytime during the AB?

Thanks!

It's in NAPBL and MLBUM.

NCAA and FED are the rules sets that require the pitcher to "declare" (although the effect is practically the same).

jkumpire Wed Jun 27, 2007 07:36am

Thanks Bob
 
I can't get my hands on my NAPBL stuff, I will have to find it for the rule citing.

waltjp Wed Jun 27, 2007 08:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Jim Porter
The correct ruling on ambidexterity is that both the batter and the pitcher may switch one time per at-bat. If the pitcher switches throwing arm and the batter switches batter boxes they must stay that way for the duration of the at-bat. If a pinch hitter enters during an at-bat, then it starts all over again -- each may again switch once.

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
It's in NAPBL and MLBUM.

NCAA and FED are the rules sets that require the pitcher to "declare" (although the effect is practically the same).

I always believed that the pitcher had to "declare" before the AB and could not change until the AB was completed. Jim's statement is allowing the pitcher to change during the AB. :confused:

bob jenkins Wed Jun 27, 2007 08:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by waltjp
I always believed that the pitcher had to "declare" before the AB and could not change until the AB was completed. Jim's statement is allowing the pitcher to change during the AB. :confused:

Under OBR, F1 is allowed to switch.

Under NCAA and FED, F1 must declare and then can't switch.

waltjp Wed Jun 27, 2007 08:52am

Thanks Bob.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:33am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1