![]() |
Quote:
Tim. |
R1 never got in a rundown between second and third. The throw from the outfield went to the fielder located right next to the first base bag. The fielder after catching the throw from the outfield on one hop, looked up and saw R1 trying to scramble back to second base. R1 fired to the middle infielder at second, and the tag was applied as R1 was diving head first back into second. R1 was then called out.
IMO, at the moment of the tag, U2 should have called "time". |
Sds
SDS,
Sorry about the weekend. --Red Sox fan. |
Lawump, you're right. I forgot that there was no rundown.
But if there had been, then according to J/R, at what point of the rundown do you kill the ball? Do you wait until the second fielder touches the ball, or what? |
Quote:
Besides, we lost 2-1, then waxed your butts in game 2, then lost in a good pitching matchup yesterday. It wasn't like the Padres rolled over for the Sox, they were all good games. |
Very true. I just like to tease. With the Sox you know you have to brag during the FIRST half of the season...because you know what's coming during the second half!
|
Quote:
Second question: Not necessarily. If the first fielder caught the ball and saw R1 hung-up between the bases, and R1 just stands there between the bases waiting to see what the fielder does, and the fielder (instead of throwing to another fielder) starts running at R1...then I'd call "time" and award appropriately. |
Quote:
Yesterday, after the fact and a crew huddle, the umpires decided to protect R1 back into second. Thus, they determined that at the moment the tag was applied the ball should have been killed. Thus, they decided that everything that happened after that point, shouldn't have been allowed to occur. SO, they "un-did" it. |
Quote:
|
Getting back to the question of microphones, in Japan the plate umpire has access to a microphone which is behind a small door in the backstop. He can make comments to the crowd and television/radio audiences. It is used sparingly--my sister-in-law is a Tokyo Giants fan, and she says it comes out once or twice per season.
I saw the microphone once while I was in Japan. It was occaisioned by an apparent error by the crew in handling a ground rules situation. Parks in Japan are all very similar, with similar ground rules, and the fans tend to know them. The announcement was simply that due to repairs, the usual ground rules were changed for that week's games. I thnk this is a fine use of a microphone-- the umpire is clarifying something that even very knowledgeable fans could not have known. Since the 'phone is available all the time and is seldom used, I think it is a fair inference that Japanese baseball does not favor routine use. |
Quote:
R1 did indeed continue toward 3rd before he began his retreat. He was thrown out sliding back into 2nd. Without the obstruction, R1 would have made it back to 2nd safely. The time he lost due to the obstruction directly led to the defense's ability to put him out sliding back into 2nd. |
Quote:
|
2 points of clarification I wish to get insight on.
1) I still don't understand how the obstruction allowed R1 to get back to second quicker. If there is no obstruction, he makes it farther towards 3rd base, which puts him in even more of a rundown, as 3rd was occupied by R2. To me, negating the obstruction makes R1 even MORE out in that run down. How did F6 slowing R1s ADVANCE obstruct R1s RETREAT towards 2nd? 2) MLB rule 7.06 reads "The obstructed runner shall be awarded at least one base beyond the base he had last legally touched before the obstruction. Any preceding runners, forced to advance by the award of bases as the penalty for obstruction, shall advance without liability to be put out." Now it seems as though R1 had legally touched 2nd, and therefore, should be awarded third. All preceding runners (which would be R2?) would advance if forced (R2 to home, because of force, correct?). Is this just an OBR error? If so, how should the rule read (or at least its interpretation...) |
Quote:
You're looking at 7.06(a). You need to look at 7.06(b). Tim. |
Quote:
2) You're looking at 7.06(a), or Type A obstruction. You need to look at 7.06(B) -- Type B obstruction: Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:59pm. |