The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Running to 1st (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/35811-running-1st.html)

Zoochy Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:03am

Running to 1st
 
Batter bunts the ball. As he is running to 1st, the catcher picks up the ball and throws to 1st. The ball hits the runner.
Does the runner have to be completely physically in foul territory? Can he be running so close to the line that his left side of his body (arm) is over the line?
Or can he run so that his feet touch the chalk line?

ctblu40 Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
Can he be running so close to the line that his left side of his body (arm) is over the line?
Or can he run so that his feet touch the chalk line?

Yes on both.

Don Mueller Wed Jun 20, 2007 10:38am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
Batter bunts the ball. As he is running to 1st, the catcher picks up the ball and throws to 1st. The ball hits the runner.
Does the runner have to be completely physically in foul territory? Can he be running so close to the line that his left side of his body (arm) is over the line?
Or can he run so that his feet touch the chalk line?

He can be in foul territory prior to the 45' running lane and unless he intentionally moves to get hit by throw there is no penalty.
Once the BR gets to the 45' running lane ct covered it.

bluezebra Thu Jun 21, 2007 06:19pm

Just because the throw hits the runner, it's not necessarily an out. The throw is not the key. If the runner is outside the running lane, and interferes with the opportunity to make the CATCH at 1b, then it's an out.

Bob

BigUmp56 Thu Jun 21, 2007 08:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Zoochy
Batter bunts the ball. As he is running to 1st, the catcher picks up the ball and throws to 1st. The ball hits the runner.
Does the runner have to be completely physically in foul territory? Can he be running so close to the line that his left side of his body (arm) is over the line?
Or can he run so that his feet touch the chalk line?


If the runner is running the last half of the distance to first base while straddling the line or touching the line and he interferes with the fielder attempting the catch at first, he's in violation and to be considered out of the lane.


Tim.

Mrumpiresir Thu Jun 21, 2007 10:36pm

The lines are considered inside the 3 foot lane so if his foot is on the line he would be considered inside the lane.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1