The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Interference during a pickle? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/35801-interference-during-pickle.html)

Lancerdad Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:13pm

Interference during a pickle?
 
R1 falls while rounding 2nd and gets caught in a rundown. F5, F6 and F4 are involved. F1 comes over too. I really did not see any interfernce by F1 but coach claims he should not have been involved and was in the way. R2 was tagged out by F4. I let the play stand as called. What do you think?

Thanks,

Brian in MI

waltjp Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:18pm

Can't call what you don't see.

DG Tue Jun 19, 2007 10:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lancerdad
R1 falls while rounding 2nd and gets caught in a rundown. F5, F6 and F4 are involved. F1 comes over too. I really did not see any interfernce by F1 but coach claims he should not have been involved and was in the way. R2 was tagged out by F4. I let the play stand as called. What do you think?

I think you need to be an umpire and judge what you see. If you don't see Obstruction by F1 (I am assuming you meant obstruction instead of interference) don't call it.

BoomerSooner Tue Jun 19, 2007 11:31pm

F1, F2, F3, F4, F5, F6, F7, F8, F9 can all be involved in a rundown if the defense needs them, and as already mentioned none of them are going to interfere with R. They might obstruct them, but just being involved doesn't qualify as obstruction. Its called making a play.

Lancerdad Wed Jun 20, 2007 12:40am

Obstruction
 
;) Yes that is what I meant! Thanks for the replies!

Brian in MI

ozzy6900 Wed Jun 20, 2007 06:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lancerdad
R1 falls while rounding 2nd and gets caught in a rundown. F5, F6 and F4 are involved. F1 comes over too. I really did not see any interfernce by F1 but coach claims he should not have been involved and was in the way. R2 was tagged out by F4. I let the play stand as called. What do you think?

Thanks,

Brian in MI

Just to be a PIA, that would be obstruction, not interference.
The offense interferes; the defense obstructs!

tibear Wed Jun 20, 2007 07:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900
Just to be a PIA, that would be obstruction, not interference.
The offense interferes; the defense obstructs!

Of course there is always the catcher interference exception.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:53pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1