The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Hit Batter Rule (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/35509-hit-batter-rule.html)

DGTYER Sat Jun 09, 2007 01:20am

Hit Batter Rule
 
Can someone please help me with this? When a pitcher throws a ball in the dirt and then hits a batter does he advance to first? If so where can I find this in the rule book? Thanks for any help

JRutledge Sat Jun 09, 2007 01:28am

Yes.

The pitch does not end because the ball hits the dirt. Not sure what rulebook you are looking for.

Peace

SanDiegoSteve Sat Jun 09, 2007 03:21am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DGTYER
Can someone please help me with this? When a pitcher throws a ball in the dirt and then hits a batter does he advance to first? If so where can I find this in the rule book? Thanks for any help

In OBR (or as you might know them, "pro rules") Rule 6.08(b) and APPROVED RULING.

In NFHS (high school rules) Rule 8-1-1d plus EXCEPTION and NOTE.

TwoBits Mon Jun 11, 2007 10:41am

In the 2007 edition, I don't see anything that specifically says that a batter is still awarded first base if the pitch hits the ground. However, it does list cases in which a batter can be hit and NOT be awarded first base, and a pitch hitting the ground is not one of them. Same thing can be said for my copy of OBR (2006 Sporting News Edition).

FED softball has the specific wording regarding the batter still being awarded first base on a pitched ball in the dirt.

If all else fails, have the person/coach/rat arguing with you think of it this way: If you could purposely bean a batter and still have them not awarded first, don't you thing the pros would have figured it out? Do you ever see a pro pitcher attempting to bean someone by skipping the pitch off the ground?

mcrowder Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:03am

Or better yet ... tell the coach there is absolutely no difference between a pitch that has hit the ground and one that hasn't, except that it can't be caught (i.e. D3K rule) and can't be a called strike. Such a ball is hittable, not dead, runners can run, HBP's are still HBP's, etc.

Rich Ives Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DGTYER
Can someone please help me with this? When a pitcher throws a ball in the dirt and then hits a batter does he advance to first? If so where can I find this in the rule book? Thanks for any help


Rule 2.00 Definition of "Ball"

TwoBits Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:10am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Rule 2.00 Definition of "Ball"

Weird place to put it, but you're right, it's there!

waltjp Mon Jun 11, 2007 11:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits
Weird place to put it, but you're right, it's there!

Where else would you place a definition?

bluezebra Mon Jun 11, 2007 01:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DGTYER
Can someone please help me with this? When a pitcher throws a ball in the dirt and then hits a batter does he advance to first? If so where can I find this in the rule book? Thanks for any help

If a pitch bounces before it gets to the batter, and gets past the catcher, may runners attermpt to advance? Of course, because the ball is still live, and still considered a pitch.

Bob

mbyron Mon Jun 11, 2007 02:19pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits
Weird place to put it, but you're right, it's there!

It's there because every pitch is either a ball or a strike, and a pitch that bounces and then hits the batter is always a ball.

TwoBits Mon Jun 11, 2007 02:25pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by waltjp
Where else would you place a definition?

I was referring to the Rule 2.00 (Ball) comment about a batter still being awarded first base on a pitch that hits him after hitting the ground. It seems that explanation would be better suited under 6.08(b).

JR12 Mon Jun 11, 2007 03:00pm

A BALL is a pitch which does not enter the strike zone in flight and is not struck at by the batter.
Rule 2.00 (Ball) Comment: If the pitch touches the ground and bounces through the strike zone it is a “ball.” If such a pitch touches the batter, he shall be awarded first base. If the batter swings at such a pitch after two strikes, the ball cannot be caught, for the purposes of Rule 6.05(c) and 6.09(b). If the batter hits such a pitch, the ensuing action shall be the same as if he hit the ball in flight


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1