The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Base abandonment? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/35334-base-abandonment.html)

legend Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:26am

Base abandonment?
 
Here's the situation: Runner on second base 1 out, Fly ball to center field, Center fielder catches the ball throws the ball back into the pitcher during this the runner at second thinks that there are 3 outs and starts to leave the field. His steps take him towards the 1st. base dugout, the runner leaves the baseline taking about 6-7 steps. His base coach yells for him to get back on the base, as he returns to the base the home plate umpire calls him out. I agree with the call but the ump got hammered by the other teams coaches. Is the call correct?

AC Blue Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by legend
Here's the situation: Runner on second base 1 out, Fly ball to center field, Center fielder catches the ball throws the ball back into the pitcher during this the runner at second thinks that there are 3 outs and starts to leave the field. His steps take him towards the 1st. base dugout, the runner leaves the baseline taking about 6-7 steps. His base coach yells for him to get back on the base, as he returns to the base the home plate umpire calls him out. I agree with the call but the ump got hammered by the other teams coaches. Is the call correct?

Did the PU call him out for leaving the basepath? If so, then it is the wrong call. The baserunner establishes the base path when a play is being made on him. There are no base lines in the field.

BigUmp56 Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by legend
Here's the situation: Runner on second base 1 out, Fly ball to center field, Center fielder catches the ball throws the ball back into the pitcher during this the runner at second thinks that there are 3 outs and starts to leave the field. His steps take him towards the 1st. base dugout, the runner leaves the baseline taking about 6-7 steps. His base coach yells for him to get back on the base, as he returns to the base the home plate umpire calls him out. I agree with the call but the ump got hammered by the other teams coaches. Is the call correct?

No, I don't think the call was correct. The runner should have been afforded the right to re-establish himself as a runner as long as he didn't leave the fair portion of the infield.


Tim.

bob jenkins Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by legend
Here's the situation: Runner on second base 1 out, Fly ball to center field, Center fielder catches the ball throws the ball back into the pitcher during this the runner at second thinks that there are 3 outs and starts to leave the field. His steps take him towards the 1st. base dugout, the runner leaves the baseline taking about 6-7 steps. His base coach yells for him to get back on the base, as he returns to the base the home plate umpire calls him out. I agree with the call but the ump got hammered by the other teams coaches. Is the call correct?

What rules?

The rules all have some statement to the effect of "obviously abandoning his effort to touch the next base." For OBR, JEA gives an "authoritative opinion" that the runner must reach foul territory (iirc). There's no such opinion / interp for other codes.

The umpire's call can certainly be supported.

mcrowder Mon Jun 04, 2007 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by legend
Here's the situation: Runner on second base 1 out, Fly ball to center field, Center fielder catches the ball throws the ball back into the pitcher during this the runner at second thinks that there are 3 outs and starts to leave the field. His steps take him towards the 1st. base dugout, the runner leaves the baseline taking about 6-7 steps. His base coach yells for him to get back on the base, as he returns to the base the home plate umpire calls him out. I agree with the call but the ump got hammered by the other teams coaches. Is the call correct?

Unless the runner A) was avoiding a tag, or B) left the field of play ... there's no rule that has this runner being called out for wandering off of their base.

UMP25 Mon Jun 04, 2007 11:00am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
What rules?

The rules all have some statement to the effect of "obviously abandoning his effort to touch the next base." For OBR, JEA gives an "authoritative opinion" that the runner must reach foul territory (iirc). There's no such opinion / interp for other codes.

The umpire's call can certainly be supported.

In the absence of anything in NCAA on this, Bob, they would defer to an OBR interpretation.

bob jenkins Mon Jun 04, 2007 11:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by UMP25
In the absence of anything in NCAA on this, Bob, they would defer to an OBR interpretation.


Agreed. The question is whether the OP's league uses JEA as "interpretation."

UMP25 Mon Jun 04, 2007 01:56pm

That would, of course, be important to know.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1