The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Defensive controlled safety slide into DB territory (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/35014-defensive-controlled-safety-slide-into-db-territory.html)

Robert E. Harrison Fri May 25, 2007 12:30pm

Defensive controlled safety slide into DB territory
 
On a foul fly toward first base dugout F3 executes a controlled safety slide into the dugout. At the time he catches the ball he is on his buttocks (which are on the live ball territory grass) with his left leg in the air over dead ball territory and the right leg is on the ground touching and over dead ball territory. The ball is 2 feet in dead ball territory when it is caught. Runners are on 1st and 3rd with one out.

johnnyg08 Fri May 25, 2007 12:37pm

in OBR...my understanding is that the entire body needs to be out of play...FED might be different...

BigGuy Fri May 25, 2007 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison
On a foul fly toward first base dugout F3 executes a controlled safety slide into the dugout. At the time he catches the ball he is on his buttocks (which are on the live ball territory grass) with his left leg in the air over dead ball territory and the right leg is on the ground touching and over dead ball territory. The ball is 2 feet in dead ball territory when it is caught. Runners are on 1st and 3rd with one out.

In FED, both feet have to be in DBT for the play to be called no catch. Since one foot is in DBT and one is above the ground over DBT, did that foot ever touch the ground in DBT? I'd be inclined to call it a catch.

See 2.9.1c
2.9.1 SITUATION C: B1 hits a fly to F8. F8 gets the ball in his hands but it is dropped (a) when he falls to the ground and rolls over; or (b) when he collides with a fielder or a wall; or (c) when he starts to throw to the infield. RULING: In (a) and (b), it is not a catch. In (c), it is a legal catch if an umpire rules that the ball was dropped as the fielder voluntarily removed the ball from the glove. COMMENT:The playing field includes both fair and foul playing territory. Any other areas beyond the playing field are defined as being outside the playing field (dead-ball area). Any wall, fence, barricade, rope, wire, marked or imaginary line is considered a part of the playing field. Any areas beyond those boundaries are outside the playing field. A fielder's status, generally, is determined by the location of his feet, and when a foot is touching a boundary line or the playing field inside the boundary line, he has not left the playing field, even though his other foot might be in contact with the area beyond the boundary line. Umpires may use the following guidelines to determine the status of a fielder following the catch of a batted or thrown live ball: (1) It is a catch when he has one or both feet touching the playing field, or with both feet in flight prior to his touching any dead-ball area. (2) If after making the catch both feet are entirely in a dead-ball area, the ball becomes dead. (3) If the ball is caught after he has established his position outside the playing field, it is not a legal catch. Also remember that whenever a dead ball follows a catch, there are instances when one or more runners may be awarded bases. (5-1-1i, 8-3-3d)

Robert E. Harrison Fri May 25, 2007 01:57pm

I just got this in an email. So I must have a foul ball?
 
6.05
A batter is out when --
(a) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder;
Rule 6.05(a) Comment: A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch, and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. A fielder, in order to make a catch on a foul ball nearing a dugout or other out-of-play area (such as the stands), must have one or both feet on or over the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout or in any other out-of-play area. Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead. Status of runners shall be as described in Rule 7.04(c) Comment.

BigGuy Fri May 25, 2007 02:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Robert E. Harrison
6.05
A batter is out when --
(a) His fair or foul fly ball (other than a foul tip) is legally caught by a fielder;
Rule 6.05(a) Comment: A fielder may reach into, but not step into, a dugout to make a catch, and if he holds the ball, the catch shall be allowed. A fielder, in order to make a catch on a foul ball nearing a dugout or other out-of-play area (such as the stands), must have one or both feet on or over the playing surface (including the lip of the dugout) and neither foot on the ground inside the dugout or in any other out-of-play area. Ball is in play, unless the fielder, after making a legal catch, falls into a dugout or other out-of-play area, in which case the ball is dead. Status of runners shall be as described in Rule 7.04(c) Comment.

Based on that, you would have a foul ball. Obviously youy are not playing FED rules.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1