The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Pickoff at first (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/34811-pickoff-first.html)

TwoBits Sat May 19, 2007 08:04pm

Pickoff at first
 
Had a team do this several times today:

USSSA played under OBR on a 70' diamond. F3 played about 2 feet in front of the line between first and second and 6 feet toward second. They would do a pickoff play where F3 would move toward the bag at the same time F1 would throw the ball over using a jump turn. On occasion, F3 would catch the ball 2 or 3 feet in front of the bag and try to do a swipe tag. The throw was directly in line with the bag, but since F3 cut it off, it never actually got to the bag.

There have been numerous discussions here that a throw not directly to first base while on the rubber or using a jump turn is a balk. Since this throw isn't getting to the bag, is it still a balk?

DG Sat May 19, 2007 08:48pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by TwoBits
Had a team do this several times today:

USSSA played under OBR on a 70' diamond. F3 played about 2 feet in front of the line between first and second and 6 feet toward second. They would do a pickoff play where F3 would move toward the bag at the same time F1 would throw the ball over using a jump turn. On occasion, F3 would catch the ball 2 or 3 feet in front of the bag and try to do a swipe tag. The throw was directly in line with the bag, but since F3 cut it off, it never actually got to the bag.

There have been numerous discussions here that a throw not directly to first base while on the rubber or using a jump turn is a balk. Since this throw isn't getting to the bag, is it still a balk?

The throw is toward 1B or toward F3 who is moving toward 1B to make a play. This is not a balk.

Picture this, if it will help. F3 is playing 10 feet bahind the bag and 10 feet toward 2B and the runner has a big lead. F3 starts moving toward 1B and F1 executes a jump turn and hits F1 on the move with the throw about 5 feet from the bag. F3 keeps moving and tags the runner trying to get back. F3 and F1 were making a play so although the throw was not directly to the bag it's not a balk, it's an OUT.

justanotherblue Sat May 19, 2007 10:29pm

It's all legal. A play was being put on by the defense. The only way that you could find a balk in this, is if the pitcher didn't have his feet on the ground when he threw over, and or distance or direction to the bag. Also, would it be a balk if F1 threw directly over the bag and F3 wasn't there???



No... still a legal move by the pitcher.

SanDiegoSteve Sun May 20, 2007 12:46am

Here is where it would be a balk:

F3 is standing 10 feet off the base. F1 thinks he's holding the runner. F1 turns to throw to F3, only to see F3 is 10 feet off the base. Meanwhile, the runner has gone back to the base, and F1 throws to F3 who has no play on the runner. Balk.

Forest Ump Sun May 20, 2007 07:12pm

[QUOTE=justanotherblue] Also, would it be a balk if F1 threw directly over the bag and F3 wasn't there???


No balk according to Jim Evans.


edited to add this follow up:

opps. I see that Justanotherblue said that at the bottom of his post. My bad.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:24am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1