The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2007, 12:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
The "umpire" if there actually is one that would ever call this, has misapplied the player interference ruling. I actually think there is probably no such umpire, but this myth has been circulating the coaching ranks for years, and it gives them another reason to trash umpires.
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"

Last edited by blueump; Mon May 07, 2007 at 12:47pm.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2007, 12:37pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 209
It was called

The out definitely was called. I just want to know how to show an umpire that this is not an out. It is hard to prove a myth to be wrong. I would like a FED reference, but am having trouble finding one.
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2007, 12:41pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,242
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu
The out definitely was called. I just want to know how to show an umpire that this is not an out. It is hard to prove a myth to be wrong. I would like a FED reference, but am having trouble finding one.
Look in the "a runner is out" rule -- 8-4-1 for BR and 8-4-2 for other runners. You won't find this rule, so the runner is not out.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2007, 12:49pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 209
Thanks

Thanks Bob. I keep looking where you pointed out. I just don't think an umpire who would make this call would believe that it is not true just because it is not there. I would expect to hear, "It's in there somewhere. You have to show me where it specifically says you can touch the runner."
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2007, 12:54pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
I wish that coaches, when confronted with something they know is wrong, would simply protest. When they don't, they are just as much at fault as the umpire who made the wrong rule application in the first place.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2007, 12:59pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 209
Protest

This is what I would do in this situation. The only problem is that in my state a protest must be settled immediately. The protesting coach has ten minutes to use the rule book or case book to show the umpire that he was wrong.
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2007, 01:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Tustin, Michigan
Posts: 403
If this is a concern for this specific umpire, just tell your players to keep their hands to themselves until after he touches the plate!
__________________
"When I umpire I may not always be right, but I am always final!"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2007, 07:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Randolph, NJ
Posts: 1,936
Send a message via Yahoo to waltjp
Quote:
Originally Posted by harmbu
The out definitely was called. I just want to know how to show an umpire that this is not an out. It is hard to prove a myth to be wrong. I would like a FED reference, but am having trouble finding one.
You're trying to prove a negative. Ask the ump to show you where it says the runner is out.
__________________
I got a fever! And the only prescription.. is more cowbell!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon May 07, 2007, 11:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Columbus, Ohio
Posts: 1,640
The FED rule posted above doesn't fit here, as it is referring to participants leaving the dugout during a live ball- which you don't have following a home run.

Refer to FED Case Book, 3.2.2A.

This case play makes it clear that a base coach touching a runner following a home run is not a violation.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Foul B1 , T on coach, another T and coach exits jritchie Basketball 15 Wed Nov 08, 2006 09:02pm
Would you have T`d the coach? Jay R Basketball 29 Mon Nov 01, 2004 11:14am
A coach really said this... tornado Baseball 9 Mon Jul 19, 2004 06:04pm
New Coach-ism rainmaker Basketball 62 Fri Jan 09, 2004 03:33pm
The Coach BMA Basketball 6 Fri Oct 26, 2001 08:48am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:29am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1