The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   I think, no, I know I blew a call tonight (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/34199-i-think-no-i-know-i-blew-call-tonight.html)

mississippiump Fri May 04, 2007 12:32pm

Her'e my funny, embarassing HBP story. HS varsity game, winner goes to playoffs, loser goes home. I'm PU, tight ballgame. Right handed batter, pitch is 6 inches inside and about hand high. Pitch strikes the kid right on the left elbow, he never moved!!!! He takes off to 1B and I'm selling my call! I call "BALL, BATTER MADE NO ATTEMPT TO MOVE, BACK IN THE BOX".

Everything sounded ok, I was proud of myself, batter is heading back to the box, no coaches are coming out!!! I did good. Then the reality hit me when the catcher said, "hey blue, I thought the count was 3-1??? Wouldn't that be ball 4????!!!!!" What could I do? I mean everyone in the town knew that the batter didn't move because I just told them!!! So after looking at my indicator, I awarded a walk! I put my mask on, laughed at myself and just went on about my business.

Jerry

bob jenkins Fri May 04, 2007 06:15pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigGuy
Your feet don't have to be completely within the batter's box to be considered "in the box". You could be right up against the plate and still be legal.

That's true when the batter is attempting to strike the ball, but while he's waiting for the pitch the feet must be entirely in the box (including on the lines).

DG Fri May 04, 2007 06:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mississippiump
Her'e my funny, embarassing HBP story. HS varsity game, winner goes to playoffs, loser goes home. I'm PU, tight ballgame. Right handed batter, pitch is 6 inches inside and about hand high. Pitch strikes the kid right on the left elbow, he never moved!!!! He takes off to 1B and I'm selling my call! I call "BALL, BATTER MADE NO ATTEMPT TO MOVE, BACK IN THE BOX".

Everything sounded ok, I was proud of myself, batter is heading back to the box, no coaches are coming out!!! I did good. Then the reality hit me when the catcher said, "hey blue, I thought the count was 3-1??? Wouldn't that be ball 4????!!!!!" What could I do? I mean everyone in the town knew that the batter didn't move because I just told them!!! So after looking at my indicator, I awarded a walk! I put my mask on, laughed at myself and just went on about my business.

Jerry

This reminded me of situation a couple years ago. I am on the plate in game that means nothing to one team, they are out of the playoffs, the other team wins and they go, lose and they stay home. The team that had nothing to gain wins 5-4 and on two occassions one of their batters is HBP on a 3-1 count and in both cases I get arguments about how he never tried to get out of the way of the pitch. One of those hit batters eventually scores, the other one didn't. So after the game I hear a bunch of comments, including some from the AD to my partner, about how it's my fault they didn't make the playoffs.

Oh, I forgot to mention they made 4 errors in the game that eventually resulted in 3 runs scored, and they played 22 games before this one, so it's all may fault they didn't make the playoffs.

And, what difference does it make if the batter is hit by a ball on a 3-1 count and the didn't move?

Lancerdad Sun May 06, 2007 08:25pm

I blew it too!
 
:confused: I was doing a LL Majors game last Thursday with R on 2 with 2 out when BR hits ball down 1B line about 8 feet and when running to 1 his foot hit ball. I went brain dead and failed to call him out! Defensive team clearly saw it and questioned me right away. I knew I totaly blew it and told offensive coach I must change it because the rules are clear on this BR is out. He protested mildly but the inning was over and I had to eat some humble pie. As it turned out the team that I had to change the call on won 3-2. Is it right to change something like that that is so obvious? I felt I did the right thing.

Thanks,
Brian in Mi

bob jenkins Mon May 07, 2007 07:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Lancerdad
:confused: I was doing a LL Majors game last Thursday with R on 2 with 2 out when BR hits ball down 1B line about 8 feet and when running to 1 his foot hit ball. I went brain dead and failed to call him out! Defensive team clearly saw it and questioned me right away. I knew I totaly blew it and told offensive coach I must change it because the rules are clear on this BR is out. He protested mildly but the inning was over and I had to eat some humble pie. As it turned out the team that I had to change the call on won 3-2. Is it right to change something like that that is so obvious? I felt I did the right thing.

Thanks,
Brian in Mi

Assuming you changed it "right away" then you did the proper thing.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1