The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   IFF Question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/33959-iff-question.html)

mattmets Wed Apr 25, 2007 01:00pm

IFF Question
 
I have a question about the Infield Fly rule....it seems pretty basic but as I got to thinking about it, it became more difficult. I think this is a case where more thinking definitely got less results.

On an IFF, does a runner have to tag up in order to advance?

At first I said "No" because the IFF call removes the force at first, and thus the runners are free to advance as they like. Then I thought about it and the rule says that runners may advance AT THEIR OWN RISK. To me, that means that they must indeed tag up. If the pop-up falls, F4 or F6 (or anyone) could throw to 2B (or any bag) and retire the runner who did not tag because the runner takes the risk of advaning of his own accord. Fortunately I've never had this sitch in a game, but I spent an inning and a half at an MLB game discussing the play with my friend.

Was my gut right and I thought too much, or did I think this one through correctly?

GarthB Wed Apr 25, 2007 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mattmets
I have a question about the Infield Fly rule....it seems pretty basic but as I got to thinking about it, it became more difficult. I think this is a case where more thinking definitely got less results.

On an IFF, does a runner have to tag up in order to advance?

At first I said "No" because the IFF call removes the force at first, and thus the runners are free to advance as they like. Then I thought about it and the rule says that runners may advance AT THEIR OWN RISK. To me, that means that they must indeed tag up. If the pop-up falls, F4 or F6 (or anyone) could throw to 2B (or any bag) and retire the runner who did not tag because the runner takes the risk of advaning of his own accord. Fortunately I've never had this sitch in a game, but I spent an inning and a half at an MLB game discussing the play with my friend.

Was my gut right and I thought too much, or did I think this one through correctly?

Runners need to tag if the fly was caught. They do not need to tag if the fly is not caught. No different, in that aspect, from any other flyball.

UmpJM Wed Apr 25, 2007 01:07pm

mattmets,

An Infield Fly is treated like any other fair fly ball with one exception - the batter is out whether the ball is legally caught or not.

If the ball is caught, the runners must retouch their TOP base or they will be subject to being called out on appeal. If the ball is not caught, they have no retouch obligation.

JM

mattmets Wed Apr 25, 2007 01:13pm

Thanks guys....that was the conclusion I eventually came to, I just wanted to hear it from some guys who have probably seen it much more than I have.

justanotherblue Wed Apr 25, 2007 04:05pm

One to many beers in that thought process I think. Yes, they have to tag up, BR is out, advance at their own peril. Should the ball fall, or purposefully droped, ball remains live, their on their own.

bluezebra Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:36pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by justanotherblue
One to many beers in that thought process I think. Yes, they have to tag up, BR is out, advance at their own peril. Should the ball fall, or purposefully droped, ball remains live, their on their own.

If the ball is intentionally dropped, the ball is DEAD.

Bob

justanotherblue Wed Apr 25, 2007 10:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bluezebra
If the ball is intentionally dropped, the ball is DEAD.

Bob

OBR 2.0 .
........... When an infield fly rule is called, runners may advance at their own risk. If on an infield fly rule, the infielder intentionally drops a fair ball, the ball remains in play despite the provisions of Rule 6.05 (L). The infield fly rule takes precedence


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:18am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1