The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Batter Drops Bat During Windup (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/33912-batter-drops-bat-during-windup.html)

cshs81 Mon Apr 23, 2007 04:21pm

Batter Drops Bat During Windup
 
Batter on 3rd. Pitcher starts to pitch but during his windup, the batter intentionally drops his bat and stoops down to pick it up. Pitcher, confused, stops his delivery which was the desired goal.

Legal?

LMan Mon Apr 23, 2007 04:34pm

You must be kidding.

BigUmp56 Mon Apr 23, 2007 04:37pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cshs81
Batter on 3rd. Pitcher starts to pitch but during his windup, the batter intentionally drops his bat and stoops down to pick it up. Pitcher, confused, stops his delivery which was the desired goal.

Legal?

No, it's never legal for a batter to start out on third base.



Tim.

LMan Mon Apr 23, 2007 04:44pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
No, it's never legal for a batter to start out on third base.



Tim.

Good catch. You gave it more attention than I did :D

I'd say use OBR 12.01(c) and runner to 2B, eject the assistant, and get a hot dog.

cshs81 Mon Apr 23, 2007 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
No, it's never legal for a batter to start out on third base.



Tim.


OOOPS.

Runner on 3rd.

RPatrino Mon Apr 23, 2007 06:01pm

How do you know the batter intentionally dropped his bat? I find this situation rather third worldly...

UmpJM Mon Apr 23, 2007 06:32pm

cshs81,

Quote:

4.06
(a) No manager, player, substitute, coach, trainer or batboy shall at any time, whether from the bench, the coach’s box or on the playing field, or elsewhere --
...
(3) Call “Time,” or employ any other word or phrase or commit any act while the ball is alive and in play for the obvious purpose of trying to make the pitcher commit a balk.
...
PENALTY: The offender shall be removed from the game and shall leave the playing field, and, if a balk is made, it shall be nullified.
So, if as you say, the batter were to do this intentionally, it would not be legal.

JM

cshs81 Mon Apr 23, 2007 07:18pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachJM
cshs81,



So, if as you say, the batter were to do this intentionally, it would not be legal.

JM

Perfect. Thanks for the help.

BTW, would use this (4..06a3) for the "skunk in the outfield" play?

Rich Ives Mon Apr 23, 2007 08:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by cshs81
Perfect. Thanks for the help.

BTW, would use this (4..06a3) for the "skunk in the outfield" play?

The skunk is legal.

cshs81 Tue Apr 24, 2007 07:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives
The skunk is legal.

If you can judge intent as described in 4.06a3, why can you not apply it to the "skunk" play? Both are judgements, correct?

bob jenkins Tue Apr 24, 2007 07:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by cshs81
If you can judge intent as described in 4.06a3, why can you not apply it to the "skunk" play? Both are judgements, correct?

Because the "skunk" play isn't desinged to induce a balk. It's designed to induce a play to allow R3 to score.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:07am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1