The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 23, 2007, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 5
Pitcher Goes to Mouth in the 18' circle

This has caused some recent confusion with our umpiring group and would appreciate a few comments.

The 2007 OBR states that the penalty for doing this is to call a ball. However, I was under the impression that with runners on base it is a balk. Is this incorrect? The OBR doesn't state a balk as the penalty with runners on. I believe that the LL Rule Book does state this is a balk in Junior/Senior leagues. What is the correct call with runners on base, always just a ball?
__________________
Dee-Jay
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ondeck circle ref5678 Softball 16 Wed May 19, 2004 04:13pm
Calling from the circle emaxos Softball 11 Sun Apr 04, 2004 08:47pm
pitcher goes to his mouth without wiping it off coachnatte Baseball 5 Thu Jun 05, 2003 02:01pm
History of the 16' circle? WestMichiganBlue Softball 7 Mon Mar 31, 2003 10:46pm
Pitcher goes to his mouth on plate...fed. ruling vs major league Vegaschuck Baseball 1 Tue Jul 24, 2001 02:33pm


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:24pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1