![]() |
Pitcher Goes to Mouth in the 18' circle
This has caused some recent confusion with our umpiring group and would appreciate a few comments.
The 2007 OBR states that the penalty for doing this is to call a ball. However, I was under the impression that with runners on base it is a balk. Is this incorrect? The OBR doesn't state a balk as the penalty with runners on. I believe that the LL Rule Book does state this is a balk in Junior/Senior leagues. What is the correct call with runners on base, always just a ball? |
not a balk. You are not deceiving the runner. Just a ball. Don't send the runners under OBR. FED just changed the rule so you can go to the mouth, even on the rubber, as long as the pitcher clearly wipes before going to the ball.
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Also, if the pitcher goes to mouth outside area and goes directly to the ball without wiping, this is also a "Ball" to the batter. Be sure to replace the ball before the next pitch. |
Quote:
I don't think so. It's nothing more than a don't do that again warning. Tim. |
Quote:
|
Why can you remove the pitcher? Because of the health hazard from bodily fluids on the baseball, of course.
|
Quote:
|
Sorry Shick, Only in OBR can you not go to your mouth when on the dirt. NCAA as well as FED, you can go to you mouth while on the mound. As long as your not in contact with the rubber, the pitcher may go to his mouth as long as he wipes directly before going to his glove.
Rich, the reason for the ball in OBR followed by warning and potienial ejection is to make him pitch the ball. Keeps him from just going to his mouth for four balls without having to pitch the ball. Keeps all the potiential of a mis-play in play by the defense. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:41pm. |