![]() |
Awarding bases
R1 and R2. Ball was hit in the air behind first base and not an infield fly situation due to F3 and F4 getting a late start on the ball. Ball drops and everyone reaches next base. F4 throws ball into the pitcher wild and ball goes into the dugout. I point to R3 and point home and he proceeds. I point to R2 and point to third and home and he proceeds. I then point to R1 and point to second and third and he only takes second base and stops. In all the confusion on the play the third base coach doesn't notice. Do I force the issue by repeating the award "coaching", or do I make the award once and let it go if he decides not to follow the instruction? This was a JV game.
|
Quote:
|
Of course you put him on the correct base. If he misunderstood your instructions and touched third base and then started for home you'd stop him, right?
|
No need to point to each base. Simply tell the runner where he should stop.
"You. Third base." |
Different Sitch
LL Juniors:
R1 Pitcher steps off mound and throws one just over F3's reach and into Dead Ball Territory. F3 did NOT touch the throw. What do you award R1? Any reference to the rules number would be appreciated. I can see 7.05 (g, h & i) but nothing specific about F1 and this sitch. The throw was directly thrown over F3's reach, and did not pass thru/over a fence nor anything else for that matter. Thanks for reading! |
Quote:
Pitcher, off the rubber, throws into DBT. Two bases. |
Quote:
clipped for brevity............ Read 7.05[g] |
Quote:
The runner was on first when it was thrown - he gets 2 bases. And 8.01 (e) If the pitcher removes his pivot foot from contact with the pitcher’s plate by stepping backward with that foot, he thereby becomes an infielder and if he makes a wild throw from that position, it shall be considered the same as a wild throw by any other infielder. Where in any of that does getting touched or not by F3 come into the picture? |
kiss
Quote:
Thanks David |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:23am. |