The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Two Runners Leave Early (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/33855-two-runners-leave-early.html)

Carl Cramer Sat Apr 21, 2007 05:22am

Two Runners Leave Early
 
With 1 out and runners on 2nd and 3rd, both leave early after a caught fly ball. After an appeal to 2nd base for out 3, can defense now also appeal to third for out 4 and prevent that run from scoring?

Thanks!

ukumpire Sat Apr 21, 2007 05:32am

Two Out - Early Leave
 
My Decision:
This is a Live Ball Appeal, so if the runner from 3rd Crossed the Plate before the appeal on R2, the Run Counts. If the last appeal (3rd Out) was to 2nd. Bad Coaching if the Appeal did not go to R3 first. Run Scores

bob jenkins Sat Apr 21, 2007 07:25am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Carl Cramer
With 1 out and runners on 2nd and 3rd, both leave early after a caught fly ball. After an appeal to 2nd base for out 3, can defense now also appeal to third for out 4 and prevent that run from scoring?

Thanks!

Of course. The defense can always appeal to get an advantagous fourth out.

GarthB Sat Apr 21, 2007 09:27am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ukumpire
My Decision:
This is a Live Ball Appeal, so if the runner from 3rd Crossed the Plate before the appeal on R2, the Run Counts. If the last appeal (3rd Out) was to 2nd. Bad Coaching if the Appeal did not go to R3 first. Run Scores


Not in this country. Advantageous fourth out appeal. No run.

johnnyg08 Mon Apr 23, 2007 12:29pm

Yes, they sure can! The previous two posts are correct...this is what is called the "advantageous fourth out appeal" rare, but could be a game decider! Make sure you're watching your touches!

mcrowder Mon Apr 23, 2007 01:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ukumpire
My Decision:
This is a Live Ball Appeal, so if the runner from 3rd Crossed the Plate before the appeal on R2, the Run Counts. If the last appeal (3rd Out) was to 2nd. Bad Coaching if the Appeal did not go to R3 first. Run Scores

Can you show us the rule in your ruleset that makes this correct? In no ruleset I've ever worked (BB or SB) is what you say true, but I admit I've not worked the ones labelled at the bottom of your signature.

justanotherblue Mon Apr 23, 2007 07:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
Can you show us the rule in your ruleset that makes this correct? In no ruleset I've ever worked (BB or SB) is what you say true, but I admit I've not worked the ones labelled at the bottom of your signature.


He's from London... it must be in Rounders rules :D

ukumpire Tue Apr 24, 2007 04:12am

Okay so I got it Wrong
 
Yep so I got that wrong, so thinking ISF Fastpitch and not the Baseball Ruling. So the 4th Out does Count.
ps: Rounders is only played in Junior School whereas baseball and Softball is played at High to Senior Level


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:52pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1