The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   "Fanboy" question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/33714-fanboy-question.html)

SanDiegoSteve Tue Apr 17, 2007 01:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Steven Tyler
Where do you get he if he has control of the baseball in his bare hand on the ground it is an out. Section 2-9-1 Note: When a batted or thrown ball is involved, the above definition of a catch applies. For any other thrown ball, the term is used loosely to apply to a pick up or to the trapping of low throw which has touched the ground. A fielder may have the ball in his grasp even though it is touching the ground while in his glove.

The case book doesn't give any plays where the ball touching the ground while in the fielder's hand is an out.

ST

Very poorly worded note in 2-9-1, like many FED rules. There should be no distinction between a ball in hand or glove. They are both equal. Control is control.

As far as what lawump has said, I have seen on several occasions the ball trapped (in control) with the bare hand and the ball touching the ground in MLB games, and have always seen it called, OUT.

mcrowder Tue Apr 17, 2007 02:26pm

Steven - I can't tell if your trolling or serious here. Give me ANY rule example showing that possession in the glove should be treated as different from possession in the hand, and I'll try to give your argument some credence. Until then, I will (along with 99.9% of the umpires here) continue to rule that there is no difference, and since there's a caseplay that refers almost identically to the OP (with the only difference being which hand is used - a difference we just dismissed as insignificant) telling me this is an out, I have an out in the OP (as do 99.9% of the umpires).

Rulesmaven - please don't take a single dissenter as uniform disagreement among umpires. This is an out. Easily.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:30am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1