The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Obstruction / Interference (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/33523-obstruction-interference.html)

grylofgren Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:28am

Obstruction / Interference
 
On a dropped third strike ball bounces off the catchers shin guard and rolls in front of the plate. The batter trips over his own feet and falls in front of the plate. The catcher now trips over the batter while attempting to field the ball. The catcher gains posession of the ball and throws down to first. No intent was apparent. What is the call?

UmpJM Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:38am

grylofgren,

While impossible to comment definitively one way or the other without seeing the play, as described, I would be inclined to rule "That's Nothing!" per the following (OBR):

Quote:

Rule 7.09(i) Comment: When a catcher and batter-runner going to first base have contact when the catcher is fielding the ball, there is generally no violation and nothing should be called. “Obstruction” by a fielder attempting to field a ball should be called only in very flagrant and violent cases because the rules give him the right of way, but of course such “right of way” is not a license to, for example, intentionally trip a runner even though fielding the ball.
JM

LMan Mon Apr 09, 2007 10:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grylofgren
The batter trips over his own feet and falls in front of the plate. The catcher now trips over the batter while attempting to field the ball....What is the call?

"Now touch your left foot to the Green dot."

GarthB Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grylofgren
What is the call?

That depends. Did the runner beat the throw to first?

grylofgren Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:20am

Runner was out on the throw to first from the cathcer

justanotherblue Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:24am

What you have to remember is that when there is some type of play in the vicinity of the plate as you describe, BOTH, the catcher and or the runner has the right to be there. The runner attempting to bust out of the box, as well as the catcher attempting to bust out and field the ball. As long as neither throws an elbow or body check to get an advantage, it's probably nothing. They both have the right to be there. So you have a clumsy BR and a slow reacting catcher...signal safe, and state...that's nothing. Now what's the call??? Well, U1 has it...safe or out.

GarthB Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:26am

Quote:

Originally Posted by grylofgren
Runner was out on the throw to first from the cathcer

Then the only call you need to make is "out."

grylofgren Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:27am

Call was nothing and batter/runner out at first base on the throw from the catcher.

RPatrino Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:28am

The common misconception is that everytime contact occurs on the field there has to a call made. If both players are where they should be and doing what they should be doing, most times I have nothing. Players make contact after slide plays all the time, runners are getting up to advance and fielders are going after overthrows;they entangle, untangle, trip and fall.

Durham Mon Apr 09, 2007 11:39am

This question is on NCAA quiz #3, just took it. Tangle/untangle like most have said, unless you see something you judge to be intentional.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:40am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1