The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Obstruction or Interference? Tricky call (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/33464-obstruction-interference-tricky-call.html)

PFISTO Sat Apr 07, 2007 09:12am

Obstruction or Interference? Tricky call
 
OK this was just sent to me. Try and make the call as you would in a game then watch again if you want to think about it.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=2NGIZ...elated&search=

BigUmp56 Sat Apr 07, 2007 09:34am

Obstruction. A fielder chasing a deflected ball outside of a step and a reach from the ball's initial deflection point cannot be priveledged, so there's definitely no interference here.



Tim.

3appleshigh Sat Apr 07, 2007 10:17am

I think I like a train wreak here. The ball was obviously coming into the way, the runner made no attempt to move out of the way, one way or another, Pitcher made no attemt to obstuct the runner, just playing the ball. I think Train wreak play stands as an out.

UmpJM Sat Apr 07, 2007 10:36am

3appleshigh,

Not a "train wreck" - it's Obstruction. What does intent have to do with the ruling on this play?

JM

SanDiegoSteve Sat Apr 07, 2007 10:58am

Quote:

Originally Posted by 3appleshigh
I think I like a train wreak here. The ball was obviously coming into the way, the runner made no attempt to move out of the way, one way or another, Pitcher made no attemt to obstuct the runner, just playing the ball. I think Train wreak play stands as an out.

In this situation, the runner is not obligated to change his path to the next base, since the fielder already had the opportunity to field the ball, and as BigUmp stated, the ball deflected more than a "step and a reach" away from him. Once that occurs, the fielder is no longer afforded protection. The correct call is Obstruction.

GarthB Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:08am

The fielder is no longer protected. Obstruction.

PFISTO Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:09am

I agree about the stretch and reach but would F1 be considered a fielder?? I believe he would

GarthB Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PFISTO
I agree about the stretch and reach but would F1 be considered a fielder?? I believe he would

In this scenario, yes.

UmpJM Sat Apr 07, 2007 11:12am

PFISTO,

The F1 certainly is considered a fielder.

In this case, he is a fielder who is not in possession of the ball and, despite appearances, NOT "in the act of fielding". Therefore, he is guilty of obstruction for impeding the runner's progress while "chasing a loose ball".

JM

bob jenkins Sat Apr 07, 2007 12:44pm

This was posted on some other board as well -- all the experienced umpires correctly ruled obstruction.

tjones1 Sat Apr 07, 2007 12:53pm

I've got obstruction. Looks like in this game the play standed as an out.

JRutledge Sat Apr 07, 2007 12:57pm

Obstruction all the way.

Peace

Durham Sat Apr 07, 2007 10:40pm

Interference
The act of an offensive player, umpire or nongame person that interferes with; physically or verbally hinders; confuses; or impedes any fielder
attempting to make a play. See specific rule sections for action to be taken: batter (6-2-d, 6-3-b, 7-11- f, k, l and n, 8-2-e, 8-5-l and p); batter-runner (7-11-l, m, o, p and q, 8-2-h, 8-5-e, o, p and q); runner (6-2-e and g, 6-4-b, 7-11-r and s, 8-2-g, 8-3-f and g, 8-5-d and k); coach (6-2-c, 8-3-j, 8-5-f and g); nongame personnel (4-8, 6-4-a, 7-11-t, 8-3-m); offensive team (5-2-d, 8-5-h and q); umpire (6-2-f, 6-3-a).

A.R. 1—If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was touched legally at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provide by these rules. The ball is dead.
A.R. 2—If the batter-runner has not touched first base at the time of interference, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch. If there was an intervening play made on another runner, all runners shall return to the base last touched at the time of interference.
A.R. 3—If a fielder has a chance to field a batted ball, but misplays it and while attempting to recover it, the ball is in the fielder’s immediate reach and the fielder is
contacted by the base runner attempting to reach a base, interference shall be called.
A.R. 4—If a fielder has a chance to field a batted ball, but misplays it and must chase after the ball, the fielder must avoid the runner. If contact occurs, obstruction shall be called.



The above is the NCAA rule. The fielder did not have a chance to field the ball and he did not misplay it, it hit him. Furthermore how can you call obstruction on someone that has the ball in their hand and then gets run into? Even if he doesn't quiet have the ball, AR3 states immediate reach, and the ball was that if not in the fielder's hand. This is interference as per AR3.

SanDiegoSteve Sat Apr 07, 2007 10:57pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Durham
Interference
The act of an offensive player, umpire or nongame person that interferes with; physically or verbally hinders; confuses; or impedes any fielder
attempting to make a play. See specific rule sections for action to be taken: batter (6-2-d, 6-3-b, 7-11- f, k, l and n, 8-2-e, 8-5-l and p); batter-runner (7-11-l, m, o, p and q, 8-2-h, 8-5-e, o, p and q); runner (6-2-e and g, 6-4-b, 7-11-r and s, 8-2-g, 8-3-f and g, 8-5-d and k); coach (6-2-c, 8-3-j, 8-5-f and g); nongame personnel (4-8, 6-4-a, 7-11-t, 8-3-m); offensive team (5-2-d, 8-5-h and q); umpire (6-2-f, 6-3-a).

A.R. 1—If the umpire declares the batter, batter-runner or a runner out for interference, all other runners shall return to the last base that was touched legally at the time of the interference, unless otherwise provide by these rules. The ball is dead.
A.R. 2—If the batter-runner has not touched first base at the time of interference, all runners shall return to the base last occupied at the time of the pitch. If there was an intervening play made on another runner, all runners shall return to the base last touched at the time of interference.
A.R. 3—If a fielder has a chance to field a batted ball, but misplays it and while attempting to recover it, the ball is in the fielder’s immediate reach and the fielder is
contacted by the base runner attempting to reach a base, interference shall be called.
A.R. 4—If a fielder has a chance to field a batted ball, but misplays it and must chase after the ball, the fielder must avoid the runner. If contact occurs, obstruction shall be called.



The above is the NCAA rule. The fielder did not have a chance to field the ball and he did not misplay it, it hit him. Furthermore how can you call obstruction on someone that has the ball in their hand and then gets run into? Even if he doesn't quiet have the ball, AR3 states immediate reach, and the ball was that if not in the fielder's hand. This is interference as per AR3.

This looks like a high school game to me, but still the pitcher did have a chance to field the ball. The ball caromed off him because he didn't draw leather on the ball. That was his chance to field the ball. A better fielding pitcher would have made the play with ease.

The pitcher doinked the ball into the runner's path. The runner had every right to try for the base, and was under no obligation to avoid the pitcher. After all, the batter didn't hit the ball down the first base line, he hit it to the pitcher. The fact that the pitcher was too inept to field the ball is not the runner's fault.

BigUmp56 Sun Apr 08, 2007 07:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Durham
A.R. 4—If a fielder has a chance to field a batted ball, but misplays it and must chase after the ball, the fielder must avoid the runner. If contact occurs, obstruction shall be called.


The above is the NCAA rule. The fielder did not have a chance to field the ball and he did not misplay it, it hit him. Furthermore how can you call obstruction on someone that has the ball in their hand and then gets run into? Even if he doesn't quiet have the ball, AR3 states immediate reach, and the ball was that if not in the fielder's hand. This is interference as per AR3.

Approved ruling #4 is all you need to look at to call this play correctly. As Steve mentioned, F1 had ample opportunity to attempt to field the ball, but chose to try a hockey style kick save instead. Not that it matters anyway as there's no distinction on a ball being deflected because the ball hit's a fielder or the fielder hit's the ball. Immediate reach is defined in the J/R as within a step and a reach of the ball's deflection point.



Tim.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:45am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1