The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Baserunning.....1st and 3rd situation (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/33007-baserunning-1st-3rd-situation.html)

illiniwek8 Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:40am

Baserunning.....1st and 3rd situation
 
The runner takes off prior to pitcher delivering pitch with hopes of drawing a throw so runner can score.....pitcher is in set position....does not step off...basically does nothing...runner reaches second base prior to pitch....pitcher delivers pitch and it is fouled off by batter...........does the runner have to go back to first? has he established second as his last base occupied prior to the pitch? what is the call here? thanks!

kylejt Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:44am

What rules are we using?

illiniwek8 Fri Mar 23, 2007 12:58am

Sorry...Fed

ozzy6900 Fri Mar 23, 2007 06:35am

Quote:

Originally Posted by illiniwek8
The runner takes off prior to pitcher delivering pitch with hopes of drawing a throw so runner can score.....pitcher is in set position....does not step off...basically does nothing...runner reaches second base prior to pitch....pitcher delivers pitch and it is fouled off by batter...........does the runner have to go back to first? has he established second as his last base occupied prior to the pitch? what is the call here? thanks!

R1 has attained 2nd base before the pitch - he remains there.

2rad4u Fri Mar 23, 2007 06:44am

Yep, he can stay.

TOP is determined when the pitcher begins his delivery. As long as the base runner attained second base prior to the pitcher moving his arms or leg to begin his delivery, he's good.

Blue37 Fri Mar 23, 2007 08:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by kylejt
What rules are we using?

Is it different?

bob jenkins Fri Mar 23, 2007 08:37am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Blue37
Is it different?

Maybe only in LL or other sets where "leading off" is restricted.

btdt Fri Mar 23, 2007 09:09am

In this situation the base umpire is concentrating on the pitcher looking for balk from C position and should not turn to see if runner reached second before pitch. Who's resposibility to decide if runner atained 2nd before pitch?

illiniwek8 Fri Mar 23, 2007 09:37am

good question...I would assume the plate umpire.....you bring up another question now..........I am only in C position with runners on 1st and 2nd or just runner on 2nd (when 3rd base has a possibilty of being stolen).....right? I was in B....should I have been in C position?

bob jenkins Fri Mar 23, 2007 09:40am

Quote:

Originally Posted by btdt
In this situation the base umpire is concentrating on the pitcher looking for balk from C position and should not turn to see if runner reached second before pitch. Who's resposibility to decide if runner atained 2nd before pitch?

Not covered because the chances of this happening in an OBR, NCAA or FED game are too remote to include the play in the mechanics manuals

mcrowder Fri Mar 23, 2007 09:52am

No official answer, but PU should be able to see this - it's in his peripheral vision.

tibear Fri Mar 23, 2007 11:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mcrowder
No official answer, but PU should be able to see this - it's in his peripheral vision.

Not only peripheral but direct vision!!

bossman72 Fri Mar 23, 2007 06:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by illiniwek8
The runner takes off prior to pitcher delivering pitch with hopes of drawing a throw so runner can score.....pitcher is in set position....does not step off...basically does nothing...runner reaches second base prior to pitch....pitcher delivers pitch and it is fouled off by batter...........does the runner have to go back to first? has he established second as his last base occupied prior to the pitch? what is the call here? thanks!


He can stay at 2nd as long as he got there before the time of the pitch. The time of the pitch in the set position is defined as when the pitcher FIRST STARTS any movement that commits him to pitch to the batter.

In a similar play, if the batter hit a liner to the SS who throws it over to first base to double up the runner, he is safe since he only has to retouch is TOP base- which was 2nd in this case.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1