The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Strike 3 or what? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/32631-strike-3-what.html)

2rad4u Sat Mar 10, 2007 07:15pm

Strike 3 or what?
 
I had something happen the other night that I have never seen.

2 strikes on the batter, next pitch is a curve coming inside and the batter ducks the pitch. As the ball comes over the batter, it nicks the bat and the catcher makes a clean catch. He didn't realize what happened and neither did anyone else.

But, it got me to thinking...that was a foul tip and it should have been strike 3?

But, I was thinking no since the batter made no effort to swing, but...

Whats the call?

bossman72 Sat Mar 10, 2007 07:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by 2rad4u
But, it got me to thinking...that was a foul tip and it should have been strike 3?

Yes!

Quote:


But, I was thinking no since the batter made no effort to swing, but...

Whats the call?

If the ball hits the bat, you play it like he swung it. Whatever happens happens. Swinging the bat has nothing to do with it.

mrm21711 Sat Mar 10, 2007 08:02pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bossman72
Yes!




If the ball hits the bat, you play it like he swung it. Whatever happens happens. Swinging the bat has nothing to do with it.

Check the definition of foul tip: ball that strikes the bat and goes sharply and directly to the catcher's hand/glove and is subsequently caught. This fits the definition.

Just think: If he ducked and the ball hit the bat and rolled in fair territory, its a batted ball right? If he ducked and popped the ball up and is caught, its a catch right?

ctblu40 Sat Mar 10, 2007 10:26pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PWL
Had the same thing happen in a game yesterday. My PU calls foul ball. I'm standing in "B" trying to get his attention that we have a strikeout. I think he finally sees me and comes out asks me if we have one and I say, "Oh, yeah". I wouldn't have let the pitcher throw another pitch though. I was waiting to see if he was going to figure it out for himself first.

Had some more of the stranger calls in this tournament, also.

Amazing.... Just about every TWP that comes up you have seen "just the other day"... :rolleyes:

ctblu40 Sat Mar 10, 2007 10:36pm

Does a Captain Umpire count?:D

(Now we're outa order.... who's out and who's up next?)

DG Sun Mar 11, 2007 12:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PWL
I wouldn't have let the pitcher throw another pitch though. I was waiting to see if he was going to figure it out for himself first.

So you would stop the game to overrule the PU?

justanotherblue Sun Mar 11, 2007 12:31am

foul tip, strike three, see ya

justanotherblue Sun Mar 11, 2007 11:45am

Quote:

Originally Posted by PWL
I worked with greenhorns for three straight days. You wouldn't believe some of the stuff I saw on calls and rotations.

I had another PU call a balk because he said the pitcher was taking his signs after he came to his stop in the set. He calls that but misses the many, many others that were actually balks.


WOW...:eek:

justanotherblue Sun Mar 11, 2007 06:43pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by boyinblue24
A foul tip cannot result in a strike three. I don't konw what rules yall are using. sorry!


well schucks yall... guess I misread 6.05b...I could just swear it says...HE'S OUT:D

GarthB Sun Mar 11, 2007 08:54pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by boyinblue24
A foul tip cannot result in a strike three. I don't konw what rules yall are using. sorry!


Oh....my....God.

Rich Ives Sun Mar 11, 2007 09:17pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by boyinblue24
I sure as hell misread that. I apologize. I didn't see that the catcher did make the catch. He is out.

If the catcher didn't catch it then it would not be a foul tip now would it.

mcrowder Sun Mar 11, 2007 09:39pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by boyinblue24
I sure as hell misread that. I apologize. I didn't see that the catcher did make the catch. He is out.

You didn't? Then why'd you call it a foul tip? What do you think a foul tip is, Mr. McCarver?

Rcichon Sun Mar 11, 2007 10:01pm

Calls TIME I do. Then me and ol Smitty has a talk like, 'you see that tip'?
When he sez yep, then it's all over!

ozzy6900 Mon Mar 12, 2007 07:28am

Quote:

Originally Posted by boyinblue24
A foul tip cannot result in a strike three. I don't konw what rules yall are using. sorry!

OMG! You really don't know what you are talking about, do you?

Quote:

Originally Posted by boyinblue24
I sure as hell misread that. I apologize. I didn't see that the catcher did make the catch. He is out.

And you wonder why we immediately take umbrage with newbies such as yourself!

gotblue? Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:30pm

It is not a matter of misreading something (no matter what it is) when you make a statement that, "[A] foul tip cannot result in a strike three."

That is plainly a misunderstanding of what a "foul tip" is, by rule book definition.

Most of the posters on this board apparently have recognized this, but your repeated replies about misreading something makes it obvious that you need to crack open your rule book to try to get a firm grasp as to what a "foul tip" is, and what a "foul ball" is.

UmpJM Mon Mar 12, 2007 10:37pm

gotblue?,

OK. The kid goofed. He apologized - twice. He may have actually gone & read the rule (and the post, apparently). Regardless, he appears to have learned the rule.

Let's give him an iota of credit for bothering and move along.

JM

gotblue? Mon Mar 12, 2007 11:08pm

Sorry, JM, but I still do not see evidence of a recognition by boyinblue24 that a "foul tip" is, by definition, a ball that is caught by the catcher, and that a "foul ball", or any other ball not caught by the catcher, is something different entirely.

He stated that a "foul tip" cannot be strike three, and then said that he misread (overlooked?) the post that stated that the ball was caught by the catcher, which caused him to change his mind about whether strike three could be called. So I am thinking that he still thinks that a "foul tip" is something that might or might not be caught by the catcher, and would be strike three only if it is caught by the catcher. Whereas I am trying to clarify to him that it is not a "foul tip" in the first instance if it is not caught by the catcher.

If I have "misread" the string of posts, then I apologize for dragging this out. Then again, BIB24 could possibly share the blame by not writing with sufficient clarity for all of us to understand.

UmpJM Mon Mar 12, 2007 11:19pm

gotblue?,

You may well be correct.

Personally, I think people would take LittleBoyBlue more seriously if he took himself a little more seriously. You know, thought about what he'd said for a sec. before hitting "submit"; maybe checked, or phrased it as a question if he weren't sure.

We'll see.

JM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1