![]() |
Meet George (R2 stealing) Jetson
Poured over every reference.. These plays.. not there...
R2. 0 outs. 3-1 count. 1. Balk and wild pitch. Playing action must continue as by rule R2 is entitled to advance beyond his award base. BR has "walked" to first. Action ends with R2 standing at third and BR at first. Q? This meet the requirement of ignoring balk? Everyone advanced as result of play.. ball 4 and wild pitch?) 2. R2 STEALING and shoulder high fastball caught by catcher. Before you can announce.. TIME!...the catcher has jumped up and thrown to third, wild, and ball is rolling in left field. R2 is running home, dogs and cats are on the field (I just threw that in?) Q? Isn't the throw by the catcher irrelevent? Is not this pitched ball DEAD immediately upon reciept by the catcher? Point is.. on a clean catch of a pitch. it is meaningless if R2 is stealing or not... right? |
Quote:
2. this isn't in any reference because you are doing the wrong thing. why are you calling time here? ball four, ball remains in play. edited for spelling. |
mikebran,
Assuming OBR rules here... Situation #1. Good example of a situation where the balk is disregarded. Everyone who was a runner on the play advanced at least one base, so disregard the balk. Situation #2. I'm guessing you meant to say that the pitcher balked in delivering the pitch, yes? If so, call "Time!" as soon as the catcher cleanly catches the pitch and enforce the balk. If he throws anyway, the ball is still dead and anything that hapeens as a result of his throw is disregarded. Do you always include a reference to an old cartoon show in your thread titles? JM |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:38am. |