The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Run Scores? (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/32304-run-scores.html)

nelson_28602 Tue Feb 27, 2007 11:40pm

Run Scores?
 
I know this is a simple play, but could someone please explain to me what I am missing on this. With one out and runners on 2nd and 3rd, the batter hits a high, deep fly to centerfield. The ball is caught, and both runners tag up and advance. After the runner from third has scored, the defense throws the ball to 2nd base and appeal. No time was called and the umpire declares the runner originally on 2nd out. My question: Does the run score? Why or why not, and let's use NFHS rules. Thnaks to all who read and help me with this in advance.

SAump Tue Feb 27, 2007 11:46pm

Quote:

OBR 7.12 Unless two are out, the status of a following runner is not affected by a preceding runner’s failure to touch or retouch a base. If, upon appeal, the preceding runner is the third out, no runners following him shall score. If such third out is the result of a force play, neither preceding nor following runners shall score.
Score the run. Look at FED 8-2-5 in Appeal Procedures and Guidelines 8 Tag-Ups

mcrowder Wed Feb 28, 2007 08:39am

Score the run.

The reason you feel like it's not a run is likely that you mistakenly consider an appeal of leaving early a force play, and the logic on a force play would nullify the run. Disabuse yourself of that notion - an appeal of a runner leaving early is NOT a force play (even though you only have to touch the bag) - it's an appeal play, and appeal plays are timing plays.

bossman72 Wed Feb 28, 2007 01:07pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by nelson_28602
I know this is a simple play, but could someone please explain to me what I am missing on this. With one out and runners on 2nd and 3rd, the batter hits a high, deep fly to centerfield. The ball is caught, and both runners tag up and advance. After the runner from third has scored, the defense throws the ball to 2nd base and appeal. No time was called and the umpire declares the runner originally on 2nd out. My question: Does the run score? Why or why not, and let's use NFHS rules. Thnaks to all who read and help me with this in advance.


Score it!

Just remember: Tag ups are always Time plays

DG Wed Feb 28, 2007 11:05pm

If the appeal out at 2B happened before the runner at 3B touched home then no score. Otherwise the appeal was after the score. Your post says AFTER the run has scored, so you answered your own question.

3appleshigh Fri Mar 02, 2007 06:52pm

Excellent word usage 'Disabuse', I like that. Had to look it up, but I like it.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:51pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1