The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Batter Missing First Base (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/31377-batter-missing-first-base.html)

Four-Oh Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:37am

It's late!
 
Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Ives
Uh, Andrew, if the ruling is in the official rules then different opinions don't matter.

I suppose you're right... there really shouldn't be any! (slaps forehead). Next time, I'll re-read before posting, especially after midnight! :o
A.

bob jenkins Fri Feb 02, 2007 09:06am

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan
Of course, you have to swallow the premise that the B/R did not 'acquire' 1B when he overstepped it, although the conventional wisdom is that he did (hence the initial safe call).

Is this a contradiction?

There's no contradiction. At first, the run scores -- BR "acquired" first. Then, upon appel, he's out -- he didn't "acquire" first so the run now does not count.

greymule Fri Feb 02, 2007 11:42am

The following question is undoubtedly familiar to most people on this forum:

R3, R1, two outs. Ground ball up the middle, just past the pitcher's right side. The shortstop gloves the ball in front of second base and attempts to tag the sliding R1 instead of tagging the base. The tag is missed, but R1 slides past the base without touching it. As R1 scrambles back to the base, the shortstop tags him before he is able to return. R3 scored before the tag was applied for the third out (a 'time play'). The defense appeals that R1 missed second base, hoping to get a force out-an 'advantageous fourth out' - to negate the run.

a. The appeal is upheld; R1 is out and the run cannot score since the third out is now a force out.

b. The appeal is not allowed, the run scores.

c. The umpire should simply call R1 out for being out of the baseline, thus avoiding this whole mess.

The correct answer is "b" (the appeal is not allowed, the run scores), at least according to how professional umpires are likely to officiate this play. In theory, Jaksa and Roder agree with answer "a" (the appeal is upheld; R1 is out and the run cannot score since the third out is a force out), but felt it necessary to write the rule as it is likely to be enforced on the field, as in answer "b." The problem lies in the fact that the Official Rules do not specifically define what constitutes an appeal. As our quiz question shows, when appeals meet force plays, the rules are especially inadequate.


We are all aware that the play on the BR at 1B is not technically a force play, as the batter did not "occupy" home plate. We also know that a BR who touches 1B and for some reason retreats toward home plate has not "reinstated the force" at 1B and must be tagged to be put out. But I don't see how those differences would affect the case under discussion.

Is it then the fact that the BR can overrun 1B that allows us to make a successful appeal of a missed 1B even when the BR is retreating? Is being 20 feet down the line not "in the vicinity" of the base? Or does this hinge on the BR actually failing to "acquire" 1B?

On the other hand, I thought we agreed that (in OBR) a BR who beats the throw but misses 1B and then overruns has to be tagged. The defense cannot simply step on 1B and appeal to the umpire while the BR is returning to the base. I saw that play at a Phillies' game a few years ago. BR safe at 1B but missed the base. Umpire calls safe. With the BR down the RF line, F3 returns to the base, steps on it, and holds the ball for the umpire to see. (I don't know whether F3 verbalized an appeal or not.) The umpire did nothing but look at F3, until F3 went and tagged the BR returning to the base. Then the umpire called the out.

This was the third out, but unfortunately a run hadn't scored from 1B in the meantime, so I didn't get to see whether they would have nullified the run.

greymule Fri Feb 02, 2007 12:19pm

This is the same as if he had continued to third and defense made a proper appeal.

That may well be, but if so, a miss by the BR at 1B is treated differently from a miss of 2B on a force play, where staying in the vicinity does not have the same effect as running to 3B.

LMan Fri Feb 02, 2007 02:31pm

at 2B/3B/HP, if the runner misses the bag and the fielder misses the tag, you signal nothing until the situation resolves itself. 1B is treated differently - if it werent we wouldn't be having this discussion.

Greymule, thanks for the info..but if the BR has to be tagged coming back to 1B, that argues that its a timing play for purposes of appeal....which other people say its not.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1