![]() |
Balk called when turning shoulders
Gentlemen:
I need a little help understanding the shoulder turn balk call. I have seen a balk called and I have also called it when a right handed pitcher after coming set, turns his shoulders, rather than his head to look at the runner at first , or for left handed pitcher looking to third. Why would it be OK to turn your head but not your shoulders? For the last couple of weeks or so I have been brushing up on my rules. I can not find any reference to this shoulder turn balk call in OBR section 8.0 or the J/R. I call Pony and Bronco ( modified OBR). So what’s the rule on this? OBR and FED. Thanks |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
6-1 states in part "Turning the shoulders to check the runners while in contact with the pitcher's plate in the set position is legal. Turning the shoulders after bringing the hands together during or after the stretch is a balk." |
Quote:
In OBR, you can turn the shoulders after bringing the hands together, and prior to "coming set," when pitching from the "set position." |
Quote:
Under OBR rules, the judgment of whether the pitcher is legally checking the runner vs. illegally feinting towards the runner is based more more on the speed of the move, than whether the shoulders turn (within reason). |
Quote:
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:16am. |