The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   HS Fed - Catcher Obstruction question (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/30784-hs-fed-catcher-obstruction-question.html)

CLBuffalo Thu Jan 11, 2007 02:22pm

HS Fed - Catcher Obstruction question
 
At a HS baseball meeting today the following situation came up. A catcher reaches across the plate to catch a pitch rather than letting the pitch come to the glove. Is this catcher obstruction? I have looked at the definition of Obstruction (2.22 - Obstruction and Fake Tag) and the subsequent references but can not find anything that specifically prohibits this. 2.22 does say in part "... or when a catcher or fielder hinders a batter as in 5-1-2b, 8-1-1e, 8-3-1c and 8-3-2." These references do not specifically list this action as obstruction.

There were some at the meeting who said this could not be called in baseball unless the batter swung at the pitch and contact was made with catcher's glove. I said a catcher could get a broken hand doing this and I was told that was on the catcher. I am used to telling a catcher to back up if I think they are too close to the batter and may get hurt. I can't see letting something develop that is potentially dangerous to any player.

This will be my first year doing baseball. I have umpired softball for 22 years and in the Fed Softball Rule Book it does specifically prohibit this action. I appreciate your thoughts and comments.

mrm21711 Thu Jan 11, 2007 02:28pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by CLBuffalo
At a HS baseball meeting today the following situation came up. A catcher reaches across the plate to catch a pitch rather than letting the pitch come to the glove. Is this catcher obstruction? I have looked at the definition of Obstruction (2.22 - Obstruction and Fake Tag) and the subsequent references but can not find anything that specifically prohibits this. 2.22 does say in part "... or when a catcher or fielder hinders a batter as in 5-1-2b, 8-1-1e, 8-3-1c and 8-3-2." These references do not specifically list this action as obstruction.

There were some at the meeting who said this could not be called in baseball unless the batter swung at the pitch and contact was made with catcher's glove. I said a catcher could get a broken hand doing this and I was told that was on the catcher. I am used to telling a catcher to back up if I think they are too close to the batter and may get hurt. I can't see letting something develop that is potentially dangerous to any player. This will be my first year doing baseball. I have umpired softball for 22 years and in the Fed Softball Rule Book it does specifically prohibit this action. I appreciate your thoughts and comments.

The catcher may not reach in front of the plate to catch a pitch, he must let it "come to him." Im sure somebody will be able to provide the appropriate wording from JEA or J/R, but this would be another example of obstruction.

Uncle George Thu Jan 11, 2007 02:32pm

Cathers Obstruction
 
For me, it's nothing until bat hits glove on the swing! If I think that the catcher is too close, I say nothing. It's not my place to "coach" the game, it's to enforce the rules so the game is played by the rules. Don't get me wrong. I do have a heart, I feel sorry for the player. In most cases the catcher will remember what happened and scoot back a little. As they say, experience is the best teacher.

mcrowder Thu Jan 11, 2007 03:18pm

It's a bad practice to reach out, but let me ask you this - what did he obstruct? If the batter wasn't swinging, then the catcher's actions didn't obstruct anything.

PS - you should not coach the players on where to stand/sit. They have coaches for that. Wait until one gets by, the coach gets on the catcher, and the catcher says, "But coach, Blue told me to move up." Officiate the game - don't affect it. (And if your umping kiddos - you're better off telling the coach about a potential problem than telling the kid to move back).

bob jenkins Thu Jan 11, 2007 04:31pm

I'm 98% certain that there's a FED case that indicates it *is* obstrcution if F2's mitt is over the plate after F1 begins his motion (or is in a position ready to pitch).

Justme Thu Jan 11, 2007 05:14pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
I'm 98% certain that there's a FED case that indicates it *is* obstrcution if F2's mitt is over the plate after F1 begins his motion (or is in a position ready to pitch).

I'm not sure what the FED case book says but the BRD states:

287 Interference by: Catcher: Definition

FED: Catcher obstruction (interference) occurs when the catcher: (1) touches the batter's bat; (2) pushes the batter to reach the pitch; or (3) steps on or across home plate to reach the pitch (8.3.1c)

ozzy6900 Thu Jan 11, 2007 08:28pm

Your answer is in the FED Case Book.

NHFS Case book 2006


8.1.1 SITUATION F: R1 is on second base. After B2 takes his position in batter's box, F2 clearly reaches out over home plate (a) prior to; (b) after F1 has made a movement that has committed him to pitch; or (c) to receive the pitch.

RULING:
It is catcher obstruction in both (b) and (c), and B2 is awarded first base and R1 is awarded third base only if he was stealing on the pitch. F2 may not catch the pitch until it has passed home plate. In (a), there is no violation provided F2 and his equipment are removed from the area over home plate before pitcher has made a movement that committed him to pitch. (8-3-1 c)






DG Thu Jan 11, 2007 09:12pm

It's catcher interference, and in FED it is called if batter just stands there. In OBR the catcher has to interfere with batter's attempt to swing to be called. Also, in OBR if a runner on 3B is trying to advance by steal or squeeze the pitcher is charged with a balk and the runner is awarded 1B (7.07).

On the other subject, if a catcher is too close to the plate I tell him he is crowding the plate and will help his pitcher out if he will back up so I can get a better look at the plate. I don't call that coaching, I call it "I want to see the plate".

BigUmp56 Thu Jan 11, 2007 10:52pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG
In OBR the catcher has to interfere with batter's attempt to swing to be called. (7.07).

I don't think that's correct, DG. Here's what the JEA says.


Professional Interpretation:

Catcher interference is any physical act which interferes with the batter while he is preparing or attempting to offer at a pitched ball.


Situations :

The pitcher is in his wind-up as the catcher settles into his position and inadvertently touches the batter's bat. The pitch is delivered and the batter does not swing. The pitch is out of the strike zone. What's the call?

RULING:

Since the pitcher had not delivered the ball at the time of the interference, the umpire shall call "time" and the batter and pitcher start over. No penalty.



Tim.

CLBuffalo Thu Jan 11, 2007 11:42pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by ozzy6900
Your answer is in the FED Case Book.

NHFS Case book 2006


8.1.1 SITUATION F: R1 is on second base. After B2 takes his position in batter's box, F2 clearly reaches out over home plate (a) prior to; (b) after F1 has made a movement that has committed him to pitch; or (c) to receive the pitch.

RULING:
It is catcher obstruction in both (b) and (c), and B2 is awarded first base and R1 is awarded third base only if he was stealing on the pitch. F2 may not catch the pitch until it has passed home plate. In (a), there is no violation provided F2 and his equipment are removed from the area over home plate before pitcher has made a movement that committed him to pitch. (8-3-1 c)

Thank you ozzy6900. I have not yet received a Case Book. If and when I do I will read it thoroughly. Thanks to everyone for their responses also.

DG Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
I don't think that's correct, DG. Here's what the JEA says.


Professional Interpretation:

Catcher interference is any physical act which interferes with the batter while he is preparing or attempting to offer at a pitched ball.


Situations :

The pitcher is in his wind-up as the catcher settles into his position and inadvertently touches the batter's bat. The pitch is delivered and the batter does not swing. The pitch is out of the strike zone. What's the call?

RULING:

Since the pitcher had not delivered the ball at the time of the interference, the umpire shall call "time" and the batter and pitcher start over. No penalty.



Tim.

Your JEA reference does not match your objection. The catcher had not interfered with the batter's swing so it's not called, no penalty. It's only called if he interferes with an attempt.

BigUmp56 Fri Jan 12, 2007 04:22am

Quote:

Originally Posted by DG
Your JEA reference does not match your objection. The catcher had not interfered with the batter's swing so it's not called, no penalty. It's only called if he interferes with an attempt.


I realize that it's mentioned as not specifically being penalized but I believe that it is still interference only with a different penalty. The ruling elludes that the defense will lose a strike if the batter chooses to swing and subsequently misses the ball should the pitch be delivered. To me that is a penalty.


Tim.

CLBuffalo Fri Jan 12, 2007 07:26am

What exactly are JEA and J/R?

ozzy6900 Fri Jan 12, 2007 07:57am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CLBuffalo
What exactly are JEA and J/R?

They are rule references from Jim Evans (JEA) and the J/R is by Chris Jaska and Rick Roder. Both of these manuals are interesting interpretations but not the ruling authority of MLB (although some people think that they are the last word in baseball rules). They both do carry a lot of weight in decisions made but in actuality, the ORB rule book, MLBUM and PBUC manuals are used in most decisions in MLB, MiLB and leagues using ORB (although the MLBUM is only available to MLB umpires).

I am not discounting the JEA and J/R by any means but I do not hold them to be the final say in any matter. If I need a ruling, I go to ORB and PBUC and I am finished. There are too many "gray areas" in both that lead to constant arguments (as you will see in the posts following).

DG Fri Jan 12, 2007 12:47pm

But, MLBUM and PBUC do not cover near the number of issues topics that JEA and J/R do. JEA is not readily available, it has been out of print for some time. MLBUM is only available to ML umpires, or if you know one. J/R and PBUC can be purchased any time. PBUC and MLBUM are nearly identical if not exactly identical in rulings. So if you want to get good interpretations books get PBUC and J/R and then get Carl's Baseball Rules Difference (BRD) to get differences between OBR, NCAA and FED.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:42pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1