![]()  | 
	
		
 Slide in direct line. 
		
		
		R1 slides into 2b, he's within arms reach to F4's side of bag. Is this slide considered in a direct line? we had major discussion at our recent meeting. would like other's interpretation of direct line. thanks. 
	 | 
		
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
 Another case of differing rules codes confusing an issue. 
	 | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 His body has to go straight into the bag.  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 If it is OBR game it's legal if he slides within arm's reach whether force or not.  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 I concur with your interpretation and all of the others as well. Basically that is how I covered this rule set in the meeting (Fed). Obviously several of our umpires(wanna be big dogs) still believe on a force play, sliding within arms reach and altering the play, is a good baseball play.  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 I don't know how many times I have heard HS coaches hollering across the field to "break it up", when there is a DP situation. Just leads to FPSR violations when they do as they are told.  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 Yes! This should be a part of everyone's pregame since it's something that's sometimes looked over.  | 
		
 Obviously wanna be umpires ... 
		
		
		Quote: 
	
 If they wanna be, then they should know the rules - be interesting to ask one of them about the difference in that rule with FED and NCAA - Then of course ask them about OBR ... Thanks David:D  | 
		
 I have sent an email to our state rules interperter and asked him to cover the fpsr when we take the state test on feb 1 and define a straight line between bases. most of our umpires still consider an arm's reach as meeting the requirements of a straight line. 
	 | 
		
 Should be interesting! 
		
		
		Quote: 
	
 Sounds like your local group has problems if your own rule interpreter can't define something that is "black and white" But maybe the state guy will help - the problem is that with many of the state guys, they don't know the rules any better than the local guys. (g) So I would ask the state interpreter for rules to back up what he is saying. Not just his opinion. Thanks David  | 
		
 When I do rules meetings for FED I tell the listeners that "straight into the bag" means head, legs, trunk, a$$, and elbows.  :D  
	JJ  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 Tim.  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 “Directly into a base” means the runner’s entire body (feet, legs, trunk and arms) must stay in a straight line between the bases. And the diagram shows the fielder protected on both sides of the base.  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 But you know how the NFHS rule book is- everything is crammed together to save the extra half cent on paper and ink.  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
  | 
		
 Quote: 
	
 That was a huge brain cramp on my part. I looked at the diagram and read that the fielder was protected in that area, but it registered as the runner was the one afforded the protection. Thanks, Tim.  | 
| All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35am. |