![]() |
Defensive Intentional Drop
I have a quick question with regards to the "Intentional Dropped Ball" rule 6.05(l)
6.05 A batter is out when -- (l) An infielder intentionally drops a fair fly ball or line drive, with first, first and second, first and third, or first, second and third base occupied before two are out. The ball is dead and runner or runners shall return to their original base or bases; APPROVED RULING: In this situation, the batter is not out if the infielder permits the ball to drop untouched to the ground, except when the Infield Fly rule applies. Can someone please translate what the intention of this rule is??? The rule seems to imply that if the defense intentionally drops an easy fly ball with a runner on first. The batter should be called out and the runners returned to their bases. HOWEVER, the approved ruling then goes on to say that the only time this should be called is during an Infield Fly. There is already an infield rule and if 6.05(l) is only called during an infield fly then why bother with 6.05(l). I'm obviously missing something. :confused: Can someone make sense out of this??? |
The intent of the rule is to eliminate the possibility of a "cheap" double (or even triple) play. Remember, the issue here is "intentionally dropped" line drive or fly ball.That requires a fielder to "touch" the ball, as in an attempt to catch the ball, then purposefully dumping it, or slapping it down, with runner(s) holding so as not to be doubled off after the catch.
The approved ruling tells you that the fielder MUST touch the ball for the call to be made, and that an IFF takes precedence. Touched or not, with the proper situation for an IFF, the umpire will have already called the batter out on the IFF. Also, you only have to have a minimum of a runner a first to apply this rule. You need a minimum of first and second bases occupied to have an IFF situation. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
So with a runner on first and the batter hits a lazy fly ball no more then 15 feet above the ground which the SS can easily take a couple of steps forward and make make the catch but instead backs up, lets it drop to try to turn the double play that's perfectly legal. |
Quote:
With a runner on first ONLY. If B1 hits a pop up, he should be heading towards first base. If the infielder lets the ball drop untouched to the ground, then there is a risk of a bad throw etc. to retire R1, therefore with R1 only, an infelder for all practical purposes will only let the ball drop untouched to the ground if he sees that B1 didn't run to first base. if the defense does turn a DP, then shame on B1 for not running like he supposed to. Pete Booth |
Or, Pete, when they want to exchange runners, i.e. Ricky Henderson is on 1st and Matt Nokes is at the plate... LOL. They may drop it intentionally just to try to get the one out at second, and exchange a slower runner.
|
Quote:
|
Hopefully, you would be correct
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:19am. |