The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Question on 2006 Umpire Exam (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/29215-question-2006-umpire-exam.html)

GarthB Thu Nov 02, 2006 01:20am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
quoted post removed by bob jenkins

This ties for the most juvenile and sophomoric post on the internet.

SanDiegoSteve Thu Nov 02, 2006 01:34am

Really? Because I found it quite descriptive and amusing myself. Perhaps I'm just a Peter Pan type personality, and remain forever young at heart.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 02, 2006 09:16am

Quote:

Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
Really? Because I found it quite descriptive and amusing myself. Perhaps I'm just a Peter Pan type personality, and remain forever young at heart.

Steve --

I'm not trying to excuse PWL's behavior. When you post crap like that, you sink, imo, to his level. It removes any reason you have to whine about his posts.

tibear Thu Nov 02, 2006 09:17am

After pondering this question a day or so, I have another question.

Situation: R1, # outs doesn't matter. Pitcher attempts pick-off at first as runner breaks for second, R1 involved in rundown between first and second and while slidding back into first is obstructed by defensive player without ball. Doesn't the runner automatically get second base or is he only entitled to first?

Given the question on the exam and the subsequent answer that the umpire would have to have judged the runner would have made it home if he wasn't obstructed. In my situation, the answer would have to be that R1 is NOT entitled to second but only first because infact when he was obstructed he wasn't even attempting for second but first.

tibear Thu Nov 02, 2006 09:19am

Quote:

Well, in that case, "If after the pitcher starts his windup or comes to a “set position” with a runner on, he does not go through with his pitch because the batter has stepped out of the box, it shall not be called a balk. Both the pitcher and batter have violated a rule and the umpire shall call time and both the batter and pitcher shall go to the locker room and share some MOLSONS and forget about the rest of the game.
Now your talking umpiring!!! :D

tibear Thu Nov 02, 2006 09:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
After pondering this question a day or so, I have another question.

Situation: R1, # outs doesn't matter. Pitcher attempts pick-off at first as runner breaks for second, R1 involved in rundown between first and second and while slidding back into first is obstructed by defensive player without ball. Doesn't the runner automatically get second base or is he only entitled to first?

Given the question on the exam and the subsequent answer that the umpire would have to have judged the runner would have made it home if he wasn't obstructed. In my situation, the answer would have to be that R1 is NOT entitled to second but only first because infact when he was obstructed he wasn't even attempting for second but first.

I found my own answer. Difference between obstruction A and obstruction B.

mbyron Thu Nov 02, 2006 10:39am

Quote:

Originally Posted by tibear
Situation: R1, # outs doesn't matter. Pitcher attempts pick-off at first as runner breaks for second, R1 involved in rundown between first and second and while slidding back into first is obstructed by defensive player without ball. Doesn't the runner automatically get second base or is he only entitled to first?

The first issue is whether to call obstruction. NCAA, I believe, has a tighter criterion, and so lacking the ball (and hindering the runner) would be sufficient for obstruction. For FED and OBR, not so: if a play is imminent, the fielder may block the bag.

But if the obstruction is clear, then the penalty also depends on the ruleset. In FED, runner gets his advance base. In OBR type A, runner gets the base he was trying to get, in this case 1B.

bob jenkins Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:04am

Quote:

Originally Posted by mbyron
But if the obstruction is clear, then the penalty also depends on the ruleset. In FED, runner gets his advance base. In OBR type A, runner gets the base he was trying to get, in this case 1B.

That's not the correct OBR ruling -- the runner is awarded a minimum of one base on type A obstruction, no matter which direction he was running during the obstruction.

mbyron Thu Nov 02, 2006 11:17am

Quote:

Originally Posted by bob jenkins
That's not the correct OBR ruling -- the runner is awarded a minimum of one base on type A obstruction, no matter which direction he was running during the obstruction.

I beg your pardon. That's right, of course. Not sure what I was thinking of, except the so-called "agent intellect" (don't worry, that's from my day job not baseball). Thanks, Bob.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:32am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1