The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Foul ball - runner has to re-touch (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/28577-foul-ball-runner-has-re-touch.html)

WeekendRef Fri Sep 29, 2006 11:55am

Foul ball - runner has to re-touch
 
With a runner on 1st batter hits a foul ball . Does the runner on 1st have to re-touch first base before the next pitch ?
From what I remember the umpire should not put the ball back in play until the runner has re-touched 1st ....is this correct ?
If it is correct let's say the runner does not re-touch after a foul ball (and the ump signals to play ball) and on the next pitch the batter hits a gapper which scores the runner from first . Is there any way the defensive team can appeal and the runner be called out for not re-touching after a foul ball ?
I am not sure I totally understand the logic behind re-touching 1st but I am not questioning the logic just curious about being able to appeal.....

Snorg Fri Sep 29, 2006 12:11pm

This should tell you everything you need to know...

http://forum.officiating.com/showthr...t=re-touch+1st

There is no appeal for the defense in this sitch...

Rich Ives Sat Sep 30, 2006 10:44am

Quote:

Originally Posted by WeekendRef
With a runner on 1st batter hits a foul ball . Does the runner on 1st have to re-touch first base before the next pitch ?
From what I remember the umpire should not put the ball back in play until the runner has re-touched 1st ....is this correct ?
If it is correct let's say the runner does not re-touch after a foul ball (and the ump signals to play ball) and on the next pitch the batter hits a gapper which scores the runner from first . Is there any way the defensive team can appeal and the runner be called out for not re-touching after a foul ball ?
I am not sure I totally understand the logic behind re-touching 1st but I am not questioning the logic just curious about being able to appeal.....


Note the absence of a penalty.

The purpose is to get the runners back where they belong before restarting play. Given that runners can lead off, being "close enough" is therefore OK.

The onus is all on the umpires per a strict reading of the rule.

bob jenkins Sat Sep 30, 2006 03:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by WeekendRef
I am not sure I totally understand the logic behind re-touching 1st but I am not questioning the logic just curious about being able to appeal.....

The requirement is to prevent (a) the offense from taking an 89' lead before the ball is put in play and having an easy stolen base, and (b) the defense from getting the ball put in play when the runner is 45' away from returning.

As long as bothteams have indicated (by their actions) that the runner is "close enough", put the ball in play; no appeal is allowed.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:39pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1