The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Most amateur fields do not support the GD Stance. (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/28479-most-amateur-fields-do-not-support-gd-stance.html)

nickrego Mon Sep 25, 2006 02:26pm

Most amateur fields do not support the GD Stance.

I have been using the Gerry Davis System / Stance for several years now, and love it.

What I hate, is that most fields don't provide the proper soil support we need to stand in the exact same two places on every pitch. (One place for right'ies, one place for left'ies)

The majority of the fields out here are very dry and sandy. After a couple of innings, I find my self standing in two holes. Especially for my right foot on right handed batter's, and my left foot for left handed batters (those are the feet I push off with for each batter). I seem to spend most of the later innings doing land excavation to keep myself from working from a pit like the Catchers.

It is so nice when I work one of the fields that has the Pro Style dirt. Nice and firm. Proper moisture content. You could work 18 innings, and hardly notice you were ever there.

Oh well, you can tell it's getting to the end of my season. Three more weeks, and the little things are starting to get to me.

BigUmp56 Mon Sep 25, 2006 02:33pm

Perhaps a new blog is in order?

Tim.

LakeErieUmp Mon Sep 25, 2006 02:37pm

Although those two holes you're in will put you back to level with the batters who are, on most amateur fields, standing in foot-deep holes in the batters boxes.

GarthB Mon Sep 25, 2006 02:54pm

Absolutely incredible. Wearing the hockey mask a little tight these days?

LMan Mon Sep 25, 2006 03:55pm

Insufficient Soil Support (ISS) (tm) is a terribly underappreciated disease, running rampant in our amateur baseball system.

LLPA13UmpDan Mon Sep 25, 2006 04:03pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by LMan