![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
[QUOTE=CoachJM]
Under OBR rules, in your initial sitch (balk, F2 overthrows 2B in his attempt on the stealing R1, r1 ends up safe at 3B) the ball NEVER became dead as a result of the balk. Since the only runner advanced one base safely on the continuous action of the play immediately following the balk, the balk is disregarded - as if it never happened. [\QUOTE] Coach, I disagree with you on the proper way to enforce the balk penalty in both OBR and NCAA. First in OBR, in order for the balk to be nullified, both the runner and batter need to advance 1 base. Once F2 catches the pitch, it's obvious that the batter will not advance. At that point, the umpire should call "Time" and enforce the balk. Quote:
The rule references for both are in my previous reply above.
__________________
"They can holler at the uniform all they want, but when they start hollering at the man wearing the uniform they're going to be in trouble."- Joe Brinkman |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|
Similar Threads
|
||||
| Thread | Thread Starter | Forum | Replies | Last Post |
| RHP in stretch facing 1st base (balk or no balk) | tem_blue | Baseball | 6 | Thu Jul 20, 2006 10:00pm |
| Stealing Home, P in Windup, Balk or No Balk? | johnnyg08 | Baseball | 2 | Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:12am |
| Was this a Balk ? I called it a Balk. | nickrego | Baseball | 20 | Fri May 12, 2006 06:07am |
| To Balk Or Not To Balk, That Is The Question.. | chuckfan1 | Baseball | 21 | Wed Sep 03, 2003 03:21pm |
| Balk, Balk Yells the Coach!!! | Gre144 | Baseball | 12 | Tue Jul 10, 2001 07:32am |