![]() |
steal - foul ball
R1. F1 begins his prelim movement in the set position. R1 breaks for 2nd. F1 then comes to a complete stop and makes no play on R1. Before F1 begins his motion to deliver to the batter, R1 touches 2nd base. F1 then delivers the pitch which is fouled off by the batter.
Ruling? fed, ncaa, pro - rule citation? i assumed foul ball, runners return TOP (which would be when F1 stepped onto the rubber to take the set position??). But I have conflicting answers from 2 different old ncaa tests. any help would be appreciated. thanks. |
Quote:
ggk, It is the same in all 3 codes. From the set postition, the TOP occurs when the pitcher separates his hands before delivering the pitch. The runner gets to keep 2nd base in all 3 codes. Rules: FED - 2-28-3;2.28.3 a through c;2.28.3 COMMENT NCAA - Same as FED. 2-Time Of Pitch OBR - Point not covered. PBUC Manual - Same as FED 2-28-3 [3.6] |
thanks. that clears it up.
a 2004 ncaa test gave the answer that the runner returns to first. the test cited ncaa rule 6.2.a - a bit vague for this sit. i think the definition of TOP nails it. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:25am. |