![]() |
obstruction/interference
NCAA rules.
another question from eofficials.com where the answer doesn't seem quite right. thoughts? would your answer differ for fed or obr? thanks. Question: R2, no outs. Line drive back at the pitcher that deflects off the pitcher’s knee and bounces over towards first base, near the foul line, but remains in fair territory. As the first-baseman is fielding the ball, the batter-runner runs over the defensive player. Answer: A. The batter-runner is out for interference. B. No interference. C. The fielder is protected in this instance. D. Eject the batter-runner because he caused the collision. E. Obstruction. If the batter is out, the out is cancelled and he is awarded first. F. A and C |
Quote:
|
I agree with Steve on this one... F
|
"F" is the correct answer for ncaa and obr. per BRD, FED looks at this play a bit differently. it is just a "collision" and there is no penalty unless the runner could have avoided contact.
|
Why doesn't the answer seem right? The batter runner hits a ball that deflects off of a defensive player and remains in fair territory. Why should he be allowed to run over the first baseman who is in the act of fielding the ball?
Most first baseman that I've seen aren't the fleetest of foot. So, if the ball deflects and is within the last half of the baseline, this is a no brainer. The runner is not allowed to be there, let alone put a hurt on a defender trying to make a play. The NCAA makes more sense than Fed most of the time. They also have some terrific video ineterps for you to peruse. Take a peek at handling situations and see how they want the game called. It is one of the best tools out there. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:37pm. |