The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   ball hits runner (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/27319-ball-hits-runner.html)

ggk Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:04am

ball hits runner
 
check out this question from the eofficials site. i don't understand how the answer could be correct. i thought the ball would stay live in this situation.
(would it be any different in fed or obr?)
thanks for any help

ncaa rules
Question:

R3 and R1. The first baseman, who is playing in front of the runner, dives to his right on a batted ground ball but cannot make the play. The second baseman is squeezing the middle of the infield and has no play on the ball. The batted ball strikes the runner, who started from a position behind the first baseman. (REVIEW)


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Answer:

A. The ball is dead when it contacts the runner at first.
B. Score the runner from third base.
C. Return the runner to third base.
D. Award the batter first base.
E. Call the runner at first base, out.
F. Allow the play to continue after the batted ball hits the runner at first base.
G. A, C, D and E
H. All of the above


Correct answer: G. A, C, D and E

Rule Link(s):
Baseball > NCAA > Rule 8: Base Running > Section 2-g: Batter Becomes Base Runner

UmpJM Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:46am

ggk,

What's confusing to you?

This is offensive interference, plain and simple. The ball is dead, the runner (who was hit by the fair batted ball) is out, the BR is awarded 1B, other runners return to their TOP base unless forced by the BR's award.

No difference FED or OBR.

JM

Justme Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:50am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachJM
ggk,

What's confusing to you?

This is offensive interference, plain and simple. The ball is dead, the runner (who was hit by the fair batted ball) is out, the BR is awarded 1B, other runners return to their TOP base unless forced by the BR's award.

No difference FED or OBR.

JM

I'm confused too. How is this interference? Please explain.

Justme Wed Jul 05, 2006 12:54am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ggk
check out this question from the eofficials site. i don't understand how the answer could be correct. i thought the ball would stay live in this situation.
(would it be any different in fed or obr?)
thanks for any help

ncaa rules
Question:

R3 and R1. The first baseman, who is playing in front of the runner, dives to his right on a batted ground ball but cannot make the play. The second baseman is squeezing the middle of the infield and has no play on the ball. The batted ball strikes the runner, who started from a position behind the first baseman. (REVIEW)


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Answer:

A. The ball is dead when it contacts the runner at first.
B. Score the runner from third base.
C. Return the runner to third base.
D. Award the batter first base.
E. Call the runner at first base, out.
F. Allow the play to continue after the batted ball hits the runner at first base.
G. A, C, D and E
H. All of the above


Correct answer: G. A, C, D and E

Rule Link(s):
Baseball > NCAA > Rule 8: Base Running > Section 2-g: Batter Becomes Base Runner


Seems like an incorrect answer to me.

NFHS & OBR are the same as NCAA 8-2-g

OBR

6.09
The batter becomes a runner when --
(c) A fair ball, after having passed a fielder other than the pitcher, or after having been touched by a fielder, including the pitcher, shall touch an umpire or runner on fair territory;

7.08
Any runner is out when --
(f) He is touched by a fair ball in fair territory before the ball has touched or passed an infielder. The ball is dead and no runner may score, nor runners advance, except runners forced to advance. EXCEPTION: If a runner is touching his base when touched by an Infield Fly, he is not out, although the batter is out;
Rule 7.08(f) Comment: If two runners are touched by the same fair ball, only the first one is out because the ball is instantly dead.
If runner is touched by an Infield Fly when he is not touching his base, both runner and batter are out.


NFHS

8-4
Art.2
Any runner is out when he:
(k) is contacted by a fair batted ball before it touches an infielder, or after it passes any infielder, except the pitcher, and the umpire is convinced that another infielder has a play.

SanDiegoSteve Wed Jul 05, 2006 01:16am

Yeah, how is this interference? F3 dove for the ball and missed and F4 had no possible play on the ball. Sounds like a live ball to me. Am I missing something here?

pdxblue Wed Jul 05, 2006 01:19am

The play described states that the runner is BEHIND the first baseman, thus, the ball has to PASS the first baseman, thus, if it hits the runner, it is NOT interference!

I am confused too!

pdxblue Wed Jul 05, 2006 01:20am

I am also confused how a few MISSED that the runner was BEHIND the first baseman. It really pays to pay attention! ;)

mrm21711 Wed Jul 05, 2006 01:52am

Quote:

Originally Posted by pdxblue
I am also confused how a few MISSED that the runner was BEHIND the first baseman. It really pays to pay attention! ;)

Unless it was intentional the runner would be out right? But yes, I do not see how the play described is interference on the runner.

Dave Hensley Wed Jul 05, 2006 05:58am

The ruling is that since the first baseman had to dive for the ball, and he missed, then the ball was not within his immediate reach, and therefore the play does not satisfy the exception to the runner interference rule. Had the ball passed through the legs of, or within the immediate reach of the first baseman, and then hit the runner immediately back of him, then and only then would the ball remain alive.

Rich Wed Jul 05, 2006 06:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Dave Hensley
The ruling is that since the first baseman had to dive for the ball, and he missed, then the ball was not within his immediate reach, and therefore the play does not satisfy the exception to the runner interference rule. Had the ball passed through the legs of, or within the immediate reach of the first baseman, and then hit the runner immediately back of him, then and only then would the ball remain alive.

Following up on Dave -- passed the infielder for purposes of this rule means the ball must be within a step and a reach of the fielder making the play. A diving fielder missing is not within a step and a reach, so the runner is expected to avoid contact with the fair batted ball.

The purpose of the rule is to protect a runner when there is no chance he can avoid the ball because he is screened by a nearby fielder.

pdxblue Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:18am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
Following up on Dave -- passed the infielder for purposes of this rule means the ball must be within a step and a reach of the fielder making the play. A diving fielder missing is not within a step and a reach, so the runner is expected to avoid contact with the fair batted ball.

The purpose of the rule is to protect a runner when there is no chance he can avoid the ball because he is screened by a nearby fielder.

I am sorry, but I disagree. You cannot back this interpretation in the rule book.

The rule ONLY says that if a batted ball touches a runner BEFORE IT PASSES A FIELDER, he is out. NOTHING ELSE! There is NOTHING about being "withing reach, or within a step".

This is scary discussion. eofficial simply got this wrong. I have had numerous times (okay, maybe 3 or 4 times....) in 20 plus years where the infielders were playing in, and a batted ball touches a runner leading off at second base. Never an arguement, and NEVER had a partner call it any different.

Intentionally touching a ball after it has passed a fielder, indeed I would have interference.

BigUmp56 Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:30am

Quote:

Originally Posted by pdxblue
I am sorry, but I disagree. You cannot back this interpretation in the rule book.

The rule ONLY says that if a batted ball touches a runner BEFORE IT PASSES A FIELDER, he is out. NOTHING ELSE! There is NOTHING about being "withing reach, or within a step".

There are many things that are not black and white in the rule book alone. While it's true that the rule book does say passes a fielder, it also says it must pass "immediately" back of the fielder. You'll find that Evans, and Roder define "immediately" exactly as Dave and Rich have. That would be within a step and a reach.


Tim.

LMan Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:35am

Tim is right, the rules don't exactly specify what 'passed' is, so JEA, J/R, et al have 'interpreted' this to mean within a 'step and reach' of the fielder. I think the test question was worded as 'diving first baseman' exactly so as to call that interp into play....thus making Dave and Rich correct.

If the fielder dives and still has no play on the batted ball, then by settled interp the 'passed' part of the rule does not apply. Interference, runner out.

pdxblue Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:40am

That is all fine and good, but "immediately" IS something listed in the rule book. There is NOWHERE in the rule book that states "within a step", or "within reach", and for very good obvious reasons! Immediately is FAR less of a judgement than "withing a step", or "within reach". FAR too many factors come into play!

Doesn't matter here though. Simply, eofficial got this wrong. I stand by that 110%! I will NEVER call this the way they list it, unless the rule book was changed to reflect this scenario as described. I still might quit after that, or simply ignore the rule, because it would be a horsecrap call to have to make!

pdxblue Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:44am

There is also precedent on what "passed" means, and this comes from a batted ball touching an umpire before it has "passed" an infielder. If this batted ball touched an umpire, what would your call be?

I can tell you with certainty that precedent with other rulings come into play here more than some "interpretation" on a ruling that has no precedent! ;)

Justme Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:46am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
There are many things that are not black and white in the rule book alone. While it's true that the rule book does say passes a fielder, it also says it must pass "immediately" back of the fielder. You'll find that Evans, and Roder define "immediately" exactly as Dave and Rich have. That would be within a step and a reach.


Tim.

Just for my education, where do the OBR's say "it must pass "immediately" back of the fielder"?

Wait I found it...

7.09
(k)A fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference.
PENALTY FOR INTERFERENCE: The runner is out and the ball is dead.

Consider this... if the fielder dives for the ball and misses the ball (distance of miss is unknown) and his dive carries his body in front of the runner then the fielder is now "immediately" back of him. I think that the key questions here are "Did another infielder have a chance to make a play?" or "Did the runner deliberately and intentionally kick the ball on which the infielder has missed a play?" It would seem that interference would be a tough call to make if the infielder dove for the ball, missed it by a foot or two and then the runner was hit by the ball when no other infielder could have made a play. JMHO

BigUmp56 Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:51am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Justme
Just for my education, where do the OBR's say "it must pass "immediately" back of the fielder"?

7.09(m) It is interference by a batter or a runner when a fair ball touches him on fair territory before touching a fielder. If a fair ball goes through or by an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him, or touches the runner after having been deflected by a fielder, the umpire shall not declare the runner out for being touched by a batted ball. In making such decision the umpire must be convinced that the ball passed through, or by, the fielder, and that no other infielder had the chance to make a play on the ball. If, in the judgment of the umpire, the runner deliberately and intentionally kicks such a batted ball on which the infielder has missed a play, then the runner shall be called out for interference.


Tim.

pdxblue Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:01am

You see, I like how ALL of this talks about a runner/fielder in proximity of each other, but DOES NOT deal with the actual play described.

There is NOWHERE, and NOTHING in the rule book that supports the ruling the way eofficial describes it!

Runner one step off of second base, infielders are playing in, and a line drive batted ball hits the runner. You are going to call him out?

You better cock your ejection finger!

BigUmp56 Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:41am

Quote:

Originally Posted by pdxblue
You see, I like how ALL of this talks about a runner/fielder in proximity of each other, but DOES NOT deal with the actual play described.

There is NOWHERE, and NOTHING in the rule book that supports the ruling the way eofficial describes it!

Runner one step off of second base, infielders are playing in, and a line drive batted ball hits the runner. You are going to call him out?

You better cock your ejection finger!

I understand what you're saying, and here's a play from the J/R that somewhat supports your position.

R3 and R1, first baseman is playing "in" (several feet in front of R1, who is leading off). The batter hits a hard grounder to the first baseman's right. He cannot touch it and it strikes R1. The second baseman had no chance of fielding the ball: no interference The ball is live.


I think the key in the eofficials answer verses the Roder ruling is all in how we envision the play. The Roder ruling mentions that the priveledged fielder cannot touch it. The eofficials ruling must have the fielder still being able to reach the ball although it says he cannot make the play.


Then this is what's found in the MLBUM.


(9) Runner on first base, first baseman positioned in front of the runner. Batter hits a ground ball just outside the reach of the first baseman as the first baseman dives to his right. The ball then strikes the runner.

Ruling: In this play the ball is considered having passed by an infielder. The umpire must now judge if another infielder has the chance to make a play on the ball. If the umpire judges yes, then the runner is declared out. If the umpire judges no, the ball is alive and in play.



Tim.

pdxblue Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:49am

Re-read the scenario! It just says "dives to his right, but cannot make the play". There is STILL nothing in the rule book that would support interference.

eofficial simply got this wrong. Not sure why. But the rule book is pretty clear that once the ball passes a fielder, and no other fielder has a chance to make a play, it is NOT interference if that ball touches a runner. Nothing about "within a step", or "within reach" of a fielder.

BigUmp56 Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:54am

There's no need to shout. I read the initial play closely enough that I don't need to re-visit it again, thank you very much. You'll find that we're not in as much disagreement as you might think. I simply have allowed for the possibility that whoever authored the play had the ball still within reach of the fielder when the runner was struck.


Tim.

UmpJM Wed Jul 05, 2006 10:59am

Gentlemen,

The eofficial's question is somewhat ambiguous, because it never says how "close" the ball was to the diving F3 - only that he "..cannot make the play". It also is not clear as to whether the runner was "immediately" behind the F3 at the time he was struck by the fair batted ball.

However, the "point" of the question, as I read it, is that the runner is NOT exempt from interference because he is "farther away from home plate than the infielder". He is only exempt if he is immediately back of the infielder and the ball goes through or by that infielder.

From the MLBUM we have:

Quote:

...
The interpretation to be made with regard to the phrase "a fair ball goes through, or by, an infielder, and touches a runner immediately back of him" (Official Baseball Rules 7.09(m) and 5.09(f)) is that this refers to a ball that passes through the infielder's legs, or by his immediate vicinity, and strikes a runner directly behind the infielder. ...

(5) Runners on first and second, both runners stealing. Batter shows bunt, the first and third basemen move in, and the shortstop moves to cover third. The batter swings at the last minute and hits a ground ball in the direction of the shortstop position. However, the shortstop has moved to cover third base, and no one is in position to field the ball. The ground ball strikes the
runner advancing from second base.
Ruling: Runner from second is declared out for being struck by a batted ball. The batter-runner is placed at first base. The ball is not considered to have gone through or by an infielder in this play.
This is entirely consistent with the text of the rules (most clearly stated in 5.09(f)) and what J/R and JEA say is the proper way to rule. If you choose to rule in a way that is contrary to what the MLBUM, JEA, & J/R say, you would be wrong. If you do it in a game where I am coaching (and it disadvantages my team) I will protest in a heartbeat.

JM

mbyron Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:25am

I was taught to think of runner interference on a batted ball this way: the burden is ALWAYS on the runner to stay out of the path of a batted ball, and his failure to do so is interference in EVERY case but one, regardless of intention. The one exception is the ball that goes "through" a fielder (essentially a misplayed ball) that hits a runner directly behind him.

Given the citation from JM, you will never see an interference "non-call" based on the fact that no infielder could make the play (e.g., ball hits runner behind a pulled-in infield). My understanding of the pro interpretation of 7.09(m) is that the defense in general, and not just the infielders, has a right to make a play on every batted ball without interference from the runners.

Folks can quibble all they want about what the text of the rule says; the pro interpretation of the rule is fairly - though not perfectly - clear on this point. I'm a little surprised to hear that Roder has something different: I wonder how he would respond to JM's citation.

Justme Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachJM
Gentlemen,

The eofficial's question is somewhat ambiguous, because it never says how "close" the ball was to the diving F3 - only that he "..cannot make the play". It also is not clear as to whether the runner was "immediately" behind the F3 at the time he was struck by the fair batted ball.

However, the "point" of the question, as I read it, is that the runner is NOT exempt from interference because he is "farther away from home plate than the infielder". He is only exempt if he is immediately back of the infielder and the ball goes through or by that infielder.

From the MLBUM we have:



This is entirely consistent with the text of the rules (most clearly stated in 5.09(f)) and what J/R and JEA say is the proper way to rule. If you choose to rule in a way that is contrary to what the MLBUM, JEA, & J/R say, you would be wrong. If you do it in a game where I am coaching (and it disadvantages my team) I will protest in a heartbeat.

JM


JM:

These are two entirely different situations.

One has the infielder making an attempt to field the ball, diving to his right. The other situation has the ball hit toward where F6 would have normally been, if he hadn't moved in for the bunt, but no infielder was there to attempt to field the ball.

Situations are as different as night and day.

Bring the protest on!

ggk Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:05pm

hey guys,

I'm glad that i am not the only one to question this ruling. thanks for the debate. i'm glad we can see some posting that stays focused on a rules question and does not deteriorate into bashing.

for whatever it is worth, i agree that the play where the runner is hit in the area that F6 has just vacated is completely different.

from the eofficial question there is no way that you could argue the F4 has a chance to make a play - "second baseman is squeezing the middle of the infield and has no play on the ball", nor can you determine exactly where R1 is when he is hit. the question states that R1 "started from a position behind the first baseman" it states that "F3 dives to his right on a batted ground ball but cannot make the play" it doesn't say that the ball was out of his reach or several feet to his right. the ball could have bounced over or under his glove when he dove. if the runner started out right behind the first baseman the logical place for him to be is still practically, if not literally right behind him as he is also moving to his right on the play.

bad question.
does anyone have a contact at eofficials.com that could help us settle this debate.
thanks again.
G

DG Wed Jul 05, 2006 09:55pm

No way this is interference. Let the protest committee decide, because they are not on my mind when making the call.

Dave Hensley Wed Jul 05, 2006 11:34pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
I understand what you're saying, and here's a play from the J/R that somewhat supports your position.

R3 and R1, first baseman is playing "in" (several feet in front of R1, who is leading off). The batter hits a hard grounder to the first baseman's right. He cannot touch it and it strikes R1. The second baseman had no chance of fielding the ball: no interference The ball is live.


I think the key in the eofficials answer verses the Roder ruling is all in how we envision the play. The Roder ruling mentions that the priveledged fielder cannot touch it. The eofficials ruling must have the fielder still being able to reach the ball although it says he cannot make the play.


Then this is what's found in the MLBUM.


(9) Runner on first base, first baseman positioned in front of the runner. Batter hits a ground ball just outside the reach of the first baseman as the first baseman dives to his right. The ball then strikes the runner.

Ruling: In this play the ball is considered having passed by an infielder. The umpire must now judge if another infielder has the chance to make a play on the ball. If the umpire judges yes, then the runner is declared out. If the umpire judges no, the ball is alive and in play.



Tim.

If you ask Rick Roder how he would rule today on the play you quoted from the Jaksa/Roder manual, he would tell you the runner is out, by professional interpretation.

There is a tremendous amount of history behind this particular interpretation, and I unfortunately do not have the time to detail it right now. The short story is, the "string theory" which Jaksa/Roder orginally supported was the interpretation which came from Nick Bremigan when he was chief instructor for the Brinkman-Froemming (or perhaps it's predecessor) umpire school. Meanwhile, the Evans school was teaching its umpires the alternate, and conflicting interpretation, of "through the legs of or within the immediate reach," a more restrictive interpretation that makes a runner hit by a batted ball out 98 times out of 100.

The Evans interpretation is the interpretation that became prevalent throughout professional baseball, and Rick Roder confirmed this fact by his own poll of active MLB umpires a couple of years ago. He said at the time that he would make the appropriate modification in the next edition of his book. I don't know if he did or not.

When I get home (I'm travelling at the moment) I'll look in my email archives and see if I can find specific quotes, citations, etc.

The poster who is adamantly opposing this ruling speculates that if you call a runner on 2B out when he is hit by a batted ball and the infield is playing in, you better get your ejection finger ready. In truth, the coaches, players and fans to a very, very high degree, all believe in the simple rule that when a runner is hit by a batted ball, he is out. By the Evans interpretation, this is true 99% of the time. I would submit that you would be more likely to have a tension convention if you do NOT kill the ball and call the runner out in that, and most every similar situation.

SanDiegoSteve Thu Jul 06, 2006 12:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
Then this is what's found in the MLBUM.

(9) Runner on first base, first baseman positioned in front of the runner. Batter hits a ground ball just outside the reach of the first baseman as the first baseman dives to his right. The ball then strikes the runner.

Ruling: In this play the ball is considered having passed by an infielder. The umpire must now judge if another infielder has the chance to make a play on the ball. If the umpire judges yes, then the runner is declared out. If the umpire judges no, the ball is alive and in play.

This is exactly how the original play reads to me, with the information provided. You can't read extra information into what is written. The ball passed F3, who dove for the ball and was at the time positioned in front of the runner. The runner, in order to have been hit, must have been directly behind the outstretched F3. F4 had no play on the ball, and neither did any of the other fielders, so the ball must be alive and in play.

GarthB Thu Jul 06, 2006 01:48am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
I understand what you're saying, and here's a play from the J/R that somewhat supports your position.

R3 and R1, first baseman is playing "in" (several feet in front of R1, who is leading off). The batter hits a hard grounder to the first baseman's right. He cannot touch it and it strikes R1. The second baseman had no chance of fielding the ball: no interference The ball is live.


I think the key in the eofficials answer verses the Roder ruling is all in how we envision the play. The Roder ruling mentions that the priveledged fielder cannot touch it. The eofficials ruling must have the fielder still being able to reach the ball although it says he cannot make the play.


Then this is what's found in the MLBUM.


(9) Runner on first base, first baseman positioned in front of the runner. Batter hits a ground ball just outside the reach of the first baseman as the first baseman dives to his right. The ball then strikes the runner.

Ruling: In this play the ball is considered having passed by an infielder. The umpire must now judge if another infielder has the chance to make a play on the ball. If the umpire judges yes, then the runner is declared out. If the umpire judges no, the ball is alive and in play.



Tim.

This is outdated and as Dave H. has indicated, even Roder know longer holds to this ruling and has annouced so, in public postings. The Evans model is the working model in professional baseball.

Rich Thu Jul 06, 2006 05:56am

Quote:

Originally Posted by GarthB
This is outdated and as Dave H. has indicated, even Roder know longer holds to this ruling and has annouced so, in public postings. The Evans model is the working model in professional baseball.

And with good reason, too. A runner hit with a batted ball he can be expected to avoid puts the defense at a great disadvantage if the ball comes off at a bad angle.

I agree with Dave wholeheartedly -- I would be tossing people if I *didn't* call the interference.

But as is seen here, there are good umpires who disagree and professionals who used to, as well. A few case plays in the rule book dealing with this play would eliminate all the ambiguity, but I figure that will happen long after we are all dead and gone.

Heading to the Netherlands today to umpire a tournament next week. See youze when I get back.

mbyron Thu Jul 06, 2006 07:24am

Hey Rich - take me with you?

bob jenkins Thu Jul 06, 2006 08:11am

Quote:

Originally Posted by ggk
bad question.
does anyone have a contact at eofficials.com that could help us settle this debate.
thanks again.
G

Where on eofficials did you find the question? If it was from the (periodic) NCAA quizzes, then I think those are put on the site by Dave Yeast.

aceholleran Fri Jul 07, 2006 08:34am

Quote:

Originally Posted by Rich Fronheiser
And with good reason, too. A runner hit with a batted ball he can be expected to avoid puts the defense at a great disadvantage if the ball comes off at a bad angle.

I agree with Dave wholeheartedly -- I would be tossing people if I *didn't* call the interference.

But as is seen here, there are good umpires who disagree and professionals who used to, as well. A few case plays in the rule book dealing with this play would eliminate all the ambiguity, but I figure that will happen long after we are all dead and gone.

Heading to the Netherlands today to umpire a tournament next week. See youze when I get back.

I am in the Fronny/Hensley camp on this, simply by using the CS&FP rulebook.

Ace Holleran

ggk Fri Jul 07, 2006 04:54pm

eofficials
 
the question was part of a practice quiz under the testing section.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:07pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1