The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Scoring: 3rd out timing play (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/27302-scoring-3rd-out-timing-play.html)

Cavman Mon Jul 03, 2006 09:08am

Scoring: 3rd out timing play
 
Question on 3rd out timing play.

Runner on 3rd base and 2nd base in LL with 2 outs. Grounder to 3rd baseman with both runners on bases advancing. 3rd baseman tags runner from 2nd coming to him no hesitation.

My question is, does the run count from third? Does it count if the runner from third crosses home before the tag or the batter/runner tags first before the tag.

Thanks

pdxblue Mon Jul 03, 2006 09:14am

If the tag happened before the runner scored, no run scores.

So, yes, if he scores before the tag then the run scores.

The exception is if you tag the batter/runner before he touches first base. ANY way that you get the batter/runner out (for third out) before he touches first base means that no run can score.

Also, ANY force out at any bag means a run cannot score.

Cavman Mon Jul 03, 2006 09:44am

Scoring: 3rd out timing play
 
I thought I read somewhere the timing play was on the batter/runner to first instead of 3rd base runner crossing the plate. I was trying to find the rule.

BigUmp56 Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:04am

I believe what you're thinking about is that no run may score if the third out is made before the BR obtains first base. 4.09(a)



Tim.

Cavman Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:12am

Scoring: 3rd out timming play
 
So if requirment would be the batter/runner to reach first before the tag on the runner from 2nd, the run would not count even if it crossed home before the tag by the third baseman.

BigUmp56 Mon Jul 03, 2006 10:20am

Not quite. The BR would have to be put out before reaching first base. The timing of his touch of first has no bearing on your play. PDX has appropriately explained that this is a timing play as you've presented it.



Tim.

SanDiegoSteve Mon Jul 03, 2006 01:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
I believe what you're thinking about is that no run may score if the third out is made before the BR obtains first base. 4.09(a)

I think the confusion was that Tim meant to say that no run may score if the third out is made by the BR before he obtains first base.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:27am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1