![]() |
Ive got Interference
2 Plays, happened to partners but anyway:
1) Runner on 1B. Batter hits a ground ball to pitcher, deflects off his glove. Ball is in vicinity of second baseman who is attempting to field it, when runner from 1B crashes into him. Interference on runner? 2) Infield in, runner on 2B. Shortstop is playing in front of the runner. Ball hit into the hole, SS goes back where the runner runs into him. He was not in the vicinity of the ball, but going back to make a play. |
Quote:
|
mrm21711,
Although I believe it is impossible to comment definitively one way or the other on an interference call without having seen the play, as described, both of your sitches sound like good calls. In your first sitch, the material question is whether or not the F4 had a reasonable opportunity at making a play for an out. If he did (in the umpire's sole judgement), it was a good call. If he didn't, then maybe it wasn't. In your second sitch, the material question is whether the F6 or the F5 had the "best" chance at fielding the ball (even, curiously enough, if neither had a "realistic" chance at fielding the ball). If it was the F6, then good call. If it was the F5, then maybe it wasn't. JM |
sounds to me like interference on both. i agree with JM that a few things could factor in and change that, but it sounds like interference to me.
|
Situation 1:
Am I correct in the fact that since the fielder was in the vicinity of fielding the deflected ball, he is "protected?" If he wasnt in the vicinity, a possible obstruction of the runner could occur? Thanks for your opinions & feedback. |
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:33am. |