The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Catcher's Balk (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/27276-catchers-balk.html)

andrewm Fri Jun 30, 2006 01:43pm

Catcher's Balk
 
USSSA 12U (OBR with safety modifications), R1.

R1 attempts steal of 2B. F1 pitches-out to F2. F2 begins movement out of the catchers box prior to release of the ball by F1. R1 is thrown out at 2B, but PU calls catcher's balk, awards R1 2B. According to 4.03(a), isn't it only a balk if an intentional walk?

Quote:

4.03
When the ball is put in play at the start of, or during a game, all fielders other than the catcher shall be on fair territory.
(a) The catcher shall station himself directly back of the plate. He may leave his position at any time to catch a pitch or make a play except that when the batter is being given an intentional base on balls, the catcher must stand with both feet within the lines of the catcher’s box until the ball leaves the pitcher’s hand.
PENALTY: Balk.
1. Was a balk the wrong call?
2. If so, is this protestable?

Thx

SanDiegoSteve Fri Jun 30, 2006 01:58pm

Andrew,

This is what the JEA has to say on the way this is to be called (emphasis mine):

"Customs and Usage: Professional umpires do not allow catchers to set-up initially beyond the lines of the catcher's box. Once the pitcher has begun his delivery and the pitch is imminent, umpires do not strictly enforce this rule. Today's game and strategy are totally different from the thinking applied when this rule was introduced. The "intentional pass" is accepted today as a wise (though risky) strategic play.

More times than not, even on the Major League level, the lines defining the catcher's box are not put down prior to the start of the game. This is clear evidence that the rule has outlived its purpose, and today's lax enforcement principles do not adversely affect the game."

UmpJM Fri Jun 30, 2006 01:58pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by andrewm
USSSA 12U (OBR with safety modifications), R1.

R1 attempts steal of 2B. F1 pitches-out to F2. F2 begins movement out of the catchers box prior to release of the ball by F1. R1 is thrown out at 2B, but PU calls catcher's balk, awards R1 2B. According to 4.03(a), isn't it only a balk if an intentional walk?



1. Was a balk the wrong call?
2. If so, is this protestable?

Thx

andrewm,

1. Yes.

2. Yes.

JM

aceholleran Fri Jun 30, 2006 02:02pm

I don't have a rule, but an opinion. If F2 clearly jumps out and gains an advantage, good balk call--no protest allowed.

Ace

SanDiegoSteve Fri Jun 30, 2006 02:04pm

Also from the JEA, a situation illustrating the rule:

"With a runner on third...the pitcher is working from the wind-up position. The pitcher starts his motion and the runner breaks for home. With a left-handed batter at bat...the catcher steps out into the rear of the right-handed batter's box to take the pitch..and easily tags out the runner.

RULING: This runner is out. The catcher may leave his position behind the plate anytime except when an intentional walk is being given. The catcher, of course, cannot step on or in front of home plate while the pitch is en route."

UmpJM Fri Jun 30, 2006 02:11pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by aceholleran
I don't have a rule, but an opinion. If F2 clearly jumps out and gains an advantage, good balk call--no protest allowed.

Ace

Ace,

That would be INCORRECT. In addition to what the rules actually say (i.e., this is NOT a balk) and the JEA text already quoted, we have the following from the BRD (#285):

Quote:

Note 297-285: During a pitch-out the catcher may jump from his box at any time, regardless of whether the pitcher has started his preliminary motion.
JM

aceholleran Fri Jun 30, 2006 02:12pm

fine; i was going with my gut. Good thing I wasn't working the game.

My bad.

tah

andrewm Fri Jun 30, 2006 02:13pm

Ok Coach, can you help me a little further? This was our 3rd of three pool games in our 12AA USSSA State Tournament. We ended up winning the game 6-3, but (without looking back at my scorebook) I believe this runner ended up scoring after the balk call. In this tournament only the top eight seeds (of 29 teams total) advanced to bracket play. We were 2-1 with a total of 14 runs allowed, which put us 11th seed.

For arguements sake, let's say that runner would've been the 3rd out and two other runs ended up scoring after that incorrect call. If I protest, does the game halt until the protest is settled? I've never seen an official protest, but I doubt it. Ok, so the game continues under protest. Normally, you protest a call, but if you win, so what? But in this case, those three runs could've been the difference between an 8 or 11 seed. Now what? Even if the protest is upheld, those runs can't be erased, can they? I doubt we'd even be given the option to play over since we won.

BigUmp56 Fri Jun 30, 2006 02:21pm

Andrew:

I can't say for certain what the USSSA tournament policy is on protests, but for the youth organizations I work, a game is suspended until the properly lodged protest is resolved. I would imagine that USSSA has a similar policy.


Tim.

UmpJM Fri Jun 30, 2006 02:26pm

andrewm,

I honestly don't know. It would depend on USSSA protest protocol and whether or not they would consider a protest that affected only the tournament seeding rather than the outcome of the game.

My guess would be that they would not, but that's only a guess.

JM

RPatrino Fri Jun 30, 2006 02:27pm

In my experience, most tourny's have a "settled on the spot" policy. So if a protest is lodged it is decided before play goes on.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:43pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1