![]() |
appeal play - does the run score?
R1 and R2, one out. B1 doubles, R2 scores and R1 is thrown out at home. B1 missed first base. He is properly appealed and called out. Does R2's run count??
|
No. The batter must reach first base.
Taken a step further, if R1 is thrown out at the plate for the thrid out of the inning R2's run can still be negated if B1 missed first base and it was properly appealed. (4th out appeal) |
Quote:
B1 out on appeal R1s out stands at home for 3rd out. |
Quote:
No run can score when the BR is put out before reaching first base. |
ggk,
The run does NOT score, for the reason stated: third out of the half inning made by the BR before touching 1B. NIump50, Have you seen this? It's right there in what they call the "rule book". All kinds of interesting stuff in there; you ought to give it a "look see" sometime. JM |
Quote:
Strikes and outs! |
Quote:
And since I'm wrong it's tough to have a good come back to your suggestion that I give the rule book a look see. So I'll take your suggestion and knock the dust off my rule book and bide my time. |
Don't feel too bad NIump50, JM got me on 7.09(d) a while back. Downright embarasskin, as Popeye would say!
|
Quote:
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:24pm. |