The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Closed Thread
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 07:52am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Out or no out #2

The thread "out or no out" reminded me of a similar discussion several years ago on McGriff. In that discussion, there was a runner on 1st. The batter hit a ball up the middle. The shortstop got to the ball and tagged the base with the ball in his bare hand before the runner arrived.

Assuming nothing but the ball touched the base, do we have an out or not?
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 08:04am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Little Elm, TX (NW Dallas)
Posts: 4,047
Please, everyone with a brain stop answering this question. I can't believe this is even an issue ... much less an issue in 9 different threads that comes up in a new one daily. Stupid. Just stupid.
__________________
"Many baseball fans look upon an umpire as a sort of necessary evil to the luxury of baseball, like the odor that follows an automobile." - Hall of Fame Pitcher Christy Mathewson
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 08:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Another question...

I've been thinking about another sitch as well....

If a batter swings and misses at a pitch that was not in the strike zone, is it still a strike?

Last edited by ctblu40; Tue Jun 20, 2006 at 08:15am.
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 08:20am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 727
Let's put an end to it once and for all:

If a defensive player has possession of the ball and touches a base in a force out situation with his hand, glove, foot, elbow, head, genetalia, etc. before the runner touches the base, the runner is OUT.
__________________
"Not all heroes have time to pose for sculptors...some still have papers to grade."
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 08:51am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 381
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoBits
Let's put an end to it once and for all:

If a defensive player has possession of the ball and touches a base in a force out situation with his hand, glove, foot, elbow, head, genetalia, etc. before the runner touches the base, the runner is OUT.
I note you failed to include "ball" in your list.
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 08:55am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 1,577
Is the hand part of the glove?
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 08:54am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 505
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoBits
Let's put an end to it once and for all:

If a defensive player has possession of the ball and touches a base in a force out situation with his hand, glove, foot, elbow, head, genetalia, etc. before the runner touches the base, the runner is OUT.

No he didn't...
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 08:57am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by ctblu40
No he didn't...
How do you it was a "he"?
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 08:56am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoBits
Let's put an end to it once and for all:

If a defensive player has possession of the ball and touches a base in a force out situation with his hand, glove, foot, elbow, head, genetalia, etc. before the runner touches the base, the runner is OUT.
Genitalia? I'd pay to see that!

What if his hair only touched the bag? Out?

PS- don't laugh too quickly. There was a basketball case play put out last year confirming that a player was out-of-bounds if they were lying on the court and their hair touched a side or end line. Seriously.
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 11:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,118
Quote:
Originally Posted by TwoBits
Let's put an end to it once and for all:

If a defensive player has possession of the ball and touches a base in a force out situation with his hand, glove, foot, elbow, head, genetalia, etc. before the runner touches the base, the runner is OUT.
If he touches the base with his genitals, I am ejecting him. But, there would be an out, first.
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 202
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn
If he touches the base with his genitals, I am ejecting him. But, there would be an out, first.
What if he ejects prior to touching?
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jun 20, 2006, 10:28pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 3,236
Quote:
Originally Posted by jwwashburn
If he touches the base with his genitals, I am ejecting him. But, there would be an out, first.

But what if the game's at the Sunshine Nudist Camp?
__________________
Rich Ives
Different does not equate to wrong
Closed Thread

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:41am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1