The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Ball goes into Right Fieders jersey (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/27091-ball-goes-into-right-fieders-jersey.html)

bcargnel Sun Jun 18, 2006 08:15pm

Ball goes into Right Fieders jersey
 
Okay guys here is an interesting one.

Summer Wooden Bat College level game (www.WCCBL.com). R1, fly ball to right that drops in front of the right fielder. R1 has rounded 2nd and B-R has touched 1st when the ball bounces down the right fielder's shirt. He reaches for it and R1 goes to 3rd but B-R remains at first. What's the ruling?

I awarded R1 3rd (he had already touched 2nd) and B-R 2nd. Was I right?

BigUmp56 Sun Jun 18, 2006 09:12pm

This is from the MLBUM.


8-21-03 @ WUA Site — When a live ball enters a player's uniform or the catcher's gear, the ball is to be ruled dead and no subsequent outs can be obtained by the defense. The umpire is then directed to employ common sense and fairness and place the runners such that the act of the ball becoming dead is nullified. The umpire may not, however, enforce any outs that he thinks may have occurred had the ball remained live. Outs occurring before the ball went out of play stand.


Tim.

SanDiegoSteve Sun Jun 18, 2006 10:21pm

Brian,

Many years ago, while attending San Diego State University, I had the privelege of taking the semester-long course of Coaching Baseball from the commissioner of your league, Jim Dietz. He was a great baseball coach, and he is one helluva good guy too. Your league couldn't have done much better!

Steve

bob jenkins Mon Jun 19, 2006 08:14am

Quote:

Originally Posted by BigUmp56
This is from the MLBUM.


8-21-03 @ WUA Site — When a live ball enters a player's uniform or the catcher's gear, the ball is to be ruled dead and no subsequent outs can be obtained by the defense. The umpire is then directed to employ common sense and fairness and place the runners such that the act of the ball becoming dead is nullified. The umpire may not, however, enforce any outs that he thinks may have occurred had the ball remained live. Outs occurring before the ball went out of play stand.


Tim.

The NCAA ruling is the same as the OBR ruling.

mbyron Mon Jun 19, 2006 11:25am

Oh, I get it. I thought this thread was about Prince rather than Cecil.

rookieblue Mon Jun 19, 2006 12:18pm

The Orioles' left fielder, Ed Rogers, lost one up his sleeve against the Mets yesterday. Bizarre. He tried to short-hop the ball and missed, the ball rolled right up his sleeve and over the top of his shoulder, emerging at the back of his neck and finally dropping.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:34pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1