![]() |
I was PU in 11/12yr old LL District Championship and had a game deciding call. This is the situation: Bases loaded no outs,top of 6th, 2-2 tie gm. Hot grounder to F6 who throws a strike to F2,who is not touching any part of the plate.F2 Catches the throw from F6,turns to tag runner coming from 3rd. In the process F6 steps on home plate then reaches down to tag a sliding R1. I call R1 out,as I look down the ball is rolling out from under R1. I was making the call on the force play not the tag. I really thought F2 was going to make a play on R2 going to 3rd after touching the plate,but instead he made a tag on R1.The contact caused the ball to become dislodged and roll free. I don't think F2 knew he made contact with home. I stuck with the out call,had to eject the coach for some things he said about my mother.This play happened in a bang/bang manner.Did I blow this call?
|
Good call. When F2 stepped on the plate, the out was made. Anything subsequent to that cannot negate the out. I've made that call dozens of times, with the usual "discussions".
Bob |
Assuming F2 had control of the ball while stepping on home plate (which it appears he did), then it's the right call.
Freix |
Good call, Coach.
Too bad the offensive coach had to go away. mick |
There may be those that disagree with me, but let's assume it wasn't a force out at the plate. From your description of the tag, the catcher was "holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove" at the time of touching the runner with the "glove holding the ball". At that exact instant, the runner was "Out" due to the tag. The ball did not become loose until AFTER the runner was "touched".
Similar to those arguments of "Hey, blue! The 1st baseman pulled his foot!" No fielder is obligated to hold his foot on a base for an "Out" to occur. It's that instantaneous action that creates the Out. The same is true on a Tag Out. The instant the runner is touched is when the Out occurs. Provided the catcher had full control of the ball at that time, you've got an Out. You might have to sell it . . . but that's the Rule. Jerry |
Jerry, you wrote: "The instant the runner is touched is when the Out occurs. Provided the catcher had full control of the ball at that time, you've got an Out.
You might have to sell it . . ." It'll be a <b>MAJOR</b> sell Jerry. Be prepared to eject a whole boatload of people. There have been at least 1,276,438 runners called safe over the years because the catcher, or another fielder, didn't hold the ball. The presumption is that the player could <b>not</b> have been holding the ball securely if it came loose. |
Careful
Quote:
After an outfielder "catches" a ball, crashes into the wall, and then loses control and drops the ball. Does it remain a catch? Is there a difference between hitting the wall, or hitting a runner's body in this respect? I think not. mick |
Sorry, I cannot defend the call. The key words in your post were "This play happened in a bang gang manner."
I've got "NO CATCH". As you know from OBR #2 a catch is nullified when the catcher simultaneously or immediately (BANG BANG) comes in contact with a runner....Causing him to to drop the ball. I interpret your rulings to mean the tag was proper as the catcher had full control of the ball when he stepped on the plate. As I have said, I would rule, no catch. As to the OBR definition of TAG as well as the interpretation of tag in JEA, there is no post tag action taken into consideration, i.e. intentional and voluntary release. However J/R interprets the TAG differently than JEA. J/R includes post tag action and requires intentional and voluntary release of the ball before the tag is official. I will go one step further on that. Let's say there was no throw, thus catch wouldn't enter into the equation. The batter tops a ball infront of the plate and the catcher went out and picked it up and ran back to the plate and the same thing happened. In that case I would call NO TAG as I need post tag action before I call that runner out. Another sitch to further my point. No force at the plate but an R3. Batter chops one in front of the plate, catcher runs out and picks up the ball and runs back and sets up for R3 coming in WITH TOTAL CONTROL of the ball. R3 slides in, you have the catcher, with full posession, and you see the catcher, as clear as daylight, tag the runner. He then drops the ball simultaneously or immediatly upon contact. Are you going to call that runner out while looking at the ball on the ground. I'm not. If you do you had better have a cell phone handy to call 911. Think about it. G. |
A "catch" and a "tag" are two completely different definitions. Mixing "apples" with "oranges" only complicates the discussion, if we're only talking about apples. In fact, the definition specifically says your description is NOT a catch. There is no such exception in the definition of "Tag".
If a runner is TOUCHED by a fielder holding the ball securely and firmly in his hand or glove . . . it's a TAG. Period. Because the ball is dropped after that TOUCH doesn't alter that definition one iota. The only judgement that needs to be made is whether or not the fielder had secure and firm possession of the ball AT THE TIME OF THE TOUCH! As I started out in my earlier reply . . . there will be those that disagree. Obviously you're among them. That doesn't change the fact that the PU could have called R3 out on the tag . . . and be fully justified in his judgement. That's all. |
Quote:
|
Agreed, Childress, but I think if you re-read the last few posts you might see that the play being discussed between Jerry and Gee had changed to a non-force tag being applied to a runner at home and not to the original situation which started the thread.
Just my opinion, Freix |
Carl - the discussion is about the "not a force" situation. Runner coming, fielder has the ball, ball comes lose on the tag as a result of the impact. Jerry asserts that this is an out the instant the fielder touches the runner, without regard to the fielder losing the ball. Most of us seem to have observed over the years that if the ball comes loose, the call is safe.
Comment? |
We've been down this same highway before. You must remember that the original post of the sitch said that the play was a bang/bang play. That is the Whole play. The catch, the slide the touching of the plate and the tag. I.E. Simultaneous and immediate.
You can disect the play in your mind but you can't change the timing. I will stay with my above calls. You well know, or should know by now, that it would take more than a village to change my mind on that. It is set in marble. You can have fun with that statement. G. |
Quote:
Amazing! Further, your bragging about such stubbornness is more than sad. Every time I think you're becoming open to learning, you post some nonsense like the above. When will I learn...? |
Quote:
Now, to move to the play YOU want dissected. That's an even easier call to make: Safe! Gosh, haven't we been teaching umpires for years that, when in doubt, they should scream: "Show me the ball! Show me the ball!" |
C2, I have read your posts and they do not desrve an answer.
I thought you cleaned up your act, sorry to see you haven't. G. |
Quote:
I agree. That post was puzzling. mick |
Quote:
|
Quote:
You're right. I didn't learn. But I have now. You and one other internet "expert" are the only two posters I know who are NEVER wrong. I've been able to take the vow on the other. Let's see if I can do as well with you. |
Huh?
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Carl Childress
Quote:
I still don't get it. mick |
Re: Huh?
[QUOTE]Originally posted by mick
Quote:
face it, you're a pretty good guy. But hey, I'm not one of them internet experts so what do I know (well, I actually am an internet expert but probably not in the sense that a certain Grumpy Gus might use the term, not to mention any names but jeeze Carl lighten up already fer gawd's sake). Anyway I like ya and I don't care what they say about you! :p |
Re: Re: Huh?
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
|
[QUOTE]Originally posted by Carl Childress
You're close, but "out" by a whisker. (grin) Carl, leave me out of this, I have not posted on the subject. :D The other gentlemen are giving you enough static. grin glen (whiskers_ump) |
OK, No post tag action considered when determining a legal tag. Per JEA, C2, Jerry and others.
The catcher took two steps to glove the ball in front of the plate. He then took two steps back to set up for R3 coming in on a non force play. That, in itself, proves total control. Now you see, clear as day, the catcher put the tag on the runner, BEFORE he gets to the Plate. After all you have said about this play, you now say, show me the ball, safe, NO TAG. Wow. Is that a contradiction. I'll stick with J/R on that, post tag proof. Good luck. G. |
Quote:
But, if we change your play slightly and F2 steps on the plate (assuming it's a force play, of course), THEN runs into the runner, it's a tag <b>of a base</b> and the runner is out even if the contact causes the ball to come loose. That's because F2 demonstrated control when he caught the ball and ran the two steps to the bag. Unless the force / act of tagging the bag caused the ball to come loose (say, for example, F2 was on the ground and reached back with his glove and the ball popped out as F2 touched the plate with his glove), the fielder still has control upon tagging the base. Action that is subsequent to tagging the base, and unrelated to tagging the base that causes the ball to come loose doesn't affect the tagging of the base. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:24am. |