The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   What new ump should look for re:balks (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/26897-what-new-ump-should-look-re-balks.html)

DTQ_Blue Mon Jun 05, 2006 06:20pm

What new ump should look for re:balks

I'm in my first year of working 90' field games and my biggest area of difficulty has been balks when I'm working as BU. Sometimes it seems like there is more going on than I can process in real time, inasmuch as calling balks instantly hasn't yet become second nature to me. Is there an approach that new umpires can use to simplify the matter, i.e., focus on a few key things, while they are on the learning curve?

Mike

RPatrino Mon Jun 05, 2006 09:28pm

DTQ:

First, watch the Jim Evans balk video multiple times. It is very good and it talks about the very obvious balks as well as the more subtle ones.

My question to you is, why do you state you have difficulty called balks while on the bases? Do you not have the same difficulty working the plate? I need to know what you mean by the distinction.

In the meantime, I would recommend you learn and call the real obvious balks as you gain more experience and work more big field ball. So, here are the big 5 for me:

1) Not coming to a complete stop prior to delivering to the plate.
2) Faking to first while on the rubber.
3) Stopping the delivery during a pitch.
4) Not stepping toward the base being thrown to.
5) Disengaging the rubber incorrectly.

There are a lot more than this, but I feel if you start with these you will get most balks that are committed.

DG Mon Jun 05, 2006 10:20pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by DTQ_Blue