![]() |
Two Questions
Cal Ripken 11-12 YO and Babe Ruth 13-15 YO
Intentional Base on Balls Does the pitcher need to pitch the 4 balls or can they just place the batter on 1B? Over run 1B on Base on Balls Can a batter-runner over run 1B on a base on balls without liability to be put out assuming the BR does not make an attempt to 2B? In other words if the catcher throws down to 1B on a walk and the BR over runs 1B can he be tagged out? Can you give me rule references? |
Ken:
There is no provision in the Babe Ruth/Cal Ripken rulebook that allows for a batter to be waved to first. They have to receive 4 pitches out of the strike zone. There in no direct rule refference that mentions a batter-runner may overrun first base on a base on balls award, but as BR/CR plays under modified OBR you could use the MLBUM referrence. MLBUM NOTE: The batter-runner is not prohibited from overrunning first base on a base on balls (i.e., the batter-runner may overrun first base on a base on balls and is not in jeopardy of being put out provided he returns immediately to first base). (See Official Baseball Rules 7.08(c)(EXCEPTION), 7.08(j)) and 7.10(c).) Tim. |
The typo in the above exception which reads 7.080 should read 7.08(j).
|
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:05am. |