The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 31, 2006, 11:28am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 54
I apologize for my cut off post last night. I had just started it when I received a phone call from my son. I am now a "grampa!" Anyway, I thought that I had deleted my post but apparently hit the submit button by mistake. Here is the sitch. HS pre-district elimination game. Home team is up 14-0 in bottom of 3rd. Runners on 1st & 2nd. One out. Batter hits screamer at my partner in C. Ball hit him in the left heel as he bailed toward 3rd base line. Ball deflected over 2nd base into center field. I called "dead ball" and killed the play. Returned runners to TOP bases and made it a do over. This batter walked to load the bases and the next batter got the game ending hit. Did I administer it correctly? By the way, I had just read the post by Bob P. so thanks for the heads up.
__________________
Stripes1950
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 31, 2006, 11:41am
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Lakeside, California
Posts: 6,724
Quote:
Originally Posted by Stripes1950
Here is the sitch. HS pre-district elimination game. Home team is up 14-0 in bottom of 3rd. Runners on 1st & 2nd. One out. Batter hits screamer at my partner in C. Ball hit him in the left heel as he bailed toward 3rd base line. Ball deflected over 2nd base into center field. I called "dead ball" and killed the play. Returned runners to TOP bases and made it a do over. This batter walked to load the bases and the next batter got the game ending hit. Did I administer it correctly? By the way, I had just read the post by Bob P. so thanks for the heads up.
No, you didn't get it right. You should have advanced forced runners one base, the BR gets first base to load the bases. The official scorer gives the batter a single.
__________________
Matthew 15:14, 1 Corinthians 1:23-25
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed May 31, 2006, 12:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 54
Quote:
Originally Posted by SanDiegoSteve
No, you didn't get it right. You should have advanced forced runners one base, the BR gets first base to load the bases. The official scorer gives the batter a single.
Yes, you are correct. Thank you. I looked at the "Dead Ball and Delayed Dead Ball Table" in the Fed Book. It indicates that batter is awarded a single and runners who are forced to advance do so. Learning something every day.
__________________
Stripes1950
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Batter intereference with catcher's throw Ran.D Softball 3 Tue Apr 25, 2006 08:46pm
Final Final Final List of Most Misunderstood Basketball Rules BillyMac Basketball 1 Fri Oct 14, 2005 11:23am
San Fran., San Jose, or Oakland area? lrpalmer3 Basketball 2 Mon May 02, 2005 09:56pm
San Fran/ San Jose area lrpalmer3 Basketball 2 Tue Feb 15, 2005 03:15am
Valley Baseball League wvblue Baseball 13 Fri Oct 20, 2000 02:37am


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:01am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1