The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Baseball (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/)
-   -   Balk Call (https://forum.officiating.com/baseball/26654-balk-call.html)

Pags Sr. Sat May 20, 2006 11:27am

Balk Call
 
Last night in the second round of a state playoff game our pitcher was called for a balk after going into a stretch, coming to rest, leaving the ball in his glove he took his right hand and made a circular motion towards the catcher to indicate he wanted another sign and was immediatley called for a balk. Is this a balk?

umpduck11 Sat May 20, 2006 11:34am

If your pitcher came set, then removed his hand from the
glove without disengaging from the rubber, or without making
a pitch or feint/attempt to a base (with the ball), yes it is a balk.

UmpJM Sat May 20, 2006 02:48pm

umpduck11,

I'm reading Pags Sr.'s description differently. It sounds like the ball remained in his glove the whole time, he remained in the "stretch" the entire time That is never started to come "set), & simply signalled to the catcher with his empty throwing hand to repeat the signs.

If that is what really happened, it is NOT a balk - even in FED.

JM

Thaal Sat May 20, 2006 03:05pm

Read it again CoachJM
"after going into a stretch, coming to rest"
This is the set position.
Umpduck11, nailed it.

UmpJM Sat May 20, 2006 05:12pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by Thaal
Read it again CoachJM
"after going into a stretch, coming to rest"
This is the set position.
Umpduck11, nailed it.

Thaal,

Umpduck11 may very well have nailed it - it would depend on what the pitcher actually did; which is a little hard to tell from from Pags' description. The key aspect that Pags omitted was whether or not the pitcher had brought his hands together prior to making the "circular motion" he described.

If he had, and then separated his hands to make the motion, I would agree that Umpduck nailed it.

If, on the other hand, the pitcher was truly in the "stretch" - and had not yet brought his hands together to come "set" - then he was fine and the action described should not be balked.

Some people use the terms "stretch" and "set" interchangeably. I think of the terms as they are used in the rulebook. Hence, my alternative interpretation of Pags' description of what happened and the proper ruling.

JM

RPatrino Sat May 20, 2006 05:18pm

The distinction is, one pitches from the stretch or set positions, and one must come to a complete stop ( come set) prior to pitching from the set position.

After coming set, a pitcher is allowed to momentarily adjust the ball in his glove, however what was described here is a balk, providing the pitcher had come set.

Bob P

BigUmp56 Sat May 20, 2006 08:24pm

Quote:

Originally Posted by PWL
Anytime the pitcher takes his hand off the ball in the glove he needs to disengage the rubber, except when he is in the wind up. Then he need to step off correctly before he takes his hand off the ball.

Right Tim, right. Am I right, Tim? Uh, Tim, uh?:o

Give me the 411 Biggie.


Well, you're getting closer to seeing the light. The pitcher can remove his hand from the ball while on the rubber as long as his next movement is a concurent motion to pitch. The pitcher can momentarily adjust the ball, or transfer the ball from his hand to his glove (or vice versa) as he steps onto the pitching rubber, but is otherwise prohibited from stepping onto the rubber with his hands joined, and if he does a balk can be called as he separates his hands.


Tim.

DG Sat May 20, 2006 11:07pm

If he started a stretch, and came to a stop, he should have his hands together in his glove. If he then takes his pitching hand off the ball to makes hand motions with his pitching hand he balked. If he started a stretch, and came to a stop with his hands not together, and started making hand motions with his pitching hand, he balked.

whatgameyouwatchinblue Sun May 21, 2006 12:07am

"If that is what really happened, it is NOT a balk - even in FED."

JM



Actually it is a balk in fed. It was in last years case book just as what was just described.

It is very OOO to call, but it is there.

UmpJM Sun May 21, 2006 12:20am

WGYWB,

Reference please. I regularly get screwed up on FED rulings, so you may very well be correct. I'm not finding it. Thanks.

JM

SanDiegoSteve Sun May 21, 2006 03:07am

Quote:

Originally Posted by CoachJM
WGYWB,

Reference please. I regularly get screwed up on FED rulings, so you may very well be correct. I'm not finding it. Thanks.

JM

JM,

2005 FED Case Book 6.1.3 Situations C, D, and E deal with removing the hands from the ball in differing examples.

bossman72 Sun May 21, 2006 09:12am

JM-

1) People use the term "stretch" to mean "taking the signs from the catcher while on the rubber before making a motion to come set." The real definition of stretch is when the pitcher is coming set and "stretches" his hands up by his head, then brings them to a set position.

2) The proper FED citation would be 6.1.2 D. The movement of his hand (whether he's taking his signs or has allready come set) is an arm movement not associated with the pitch/set, so it would be a balk (although a very picky one).


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1