The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Baseball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jul 18, 2001, 04:59am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,194
Quote:
Originally posted by Gre144

B2 can try for first if he does not abandon his effort to reach it. I always wondered how an umpire determines if a runner has abandoned his effort. Does he need at least one foot in the dug out to be considered abandoning his effort? What if he only sticks an are in the dug out and the realizes that he can go back? Do you call him out at this point? Or do you call him out when he begins to walk droopingly towards the dug out?
The FED rules do not say "abandon his effort to reach it." THey say, "gives up by entering the bench or dugout area." 8-4-1i. To enter dead ball territory in FED, you must not have a foot in live ball territory.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:04pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1