![]() |
Catch in Dugout
Rule 7.04(c) seems to imply that if a player goes into a dugout with both feet and makes a catch, it's legal.
Now, i have 2 contradicting reliable sources that say "catch" and "no catch." 2002 MLBUM says to allow the catch. 2006 BRD official interp says to NOT allow the catch. Which one should i believe? |
PWL has just quoted what the rule book says about this, but as bossman72 has pointed out, the BRD tells us differently. My 2002 MLBUM says the same thing that bossman said, but the newest version is different as well.
From BRD Note 154, Section 123 (2005 version): "The correct OBR ruling above depends on which interpretation you or your league is using. If you go by the letter of the law, the catch is allowed. If you go by the most recent official interpretation, it is the same as in FED and NCAA. BRD recommends: Unless you have ground rules to the contrary, call out the batter because that's what "The Book" says." Apparently, the latest MLBUM has taken the position that it is not a catch: "In the interest of uniformity a catch is not allowed in any dugout." |
Wasn't this one of the 2006 TSN OBR changes?
Tim. |
You know, Tim, I don't know off the top of my head. I can check when I get home, as I don't have the book in front of me.
|
Casebook Comment to Rule 6.05(a) has been added to prohibit fielders from catching a ball in the dugout. (fielders may no longer enter the dugout to make a catch.) Fielders may still reach into the dugout to make a catch but they may no longer step into the dugout to do so. Casebook Comment to Rule 7.04(c) amended to delete reference allowing catch to be made in dugout.
the MLB players union has not yet voted that rule change into effect (as of my publication on 3/11/06) so any MLB "red book" will probably still have the interpretation that the catch is allowed in the dugout. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:04am. |